Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more

Audiobooks for Kids 9 to 12

Older grade schoolers are ready for adventure. They want to explore new worlds, new ideas, new emotions, and are ready for narratives that can take them there. Introduce them to classics from your own childhood, and new books about young people finding their place in the world. Or visit the mythical worlds of Percy Jackson and Magnus Chase. It’s all here!

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: tweens

View all playlists

Weird Kid

By Greg van Eekhout
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Length: TBA

From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don’t belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb.

Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Last Super Chef

By Chris Negron
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: TBA

Family and food take center stage in this heartfelt middle grade story perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Antony John.

For as long as he can remember, Curtis Pith has been obsessed with becoming a chef like Lucas Taylor, host of Super Chef. And Curtis has a secret: Taylor is actually his long-absent father.

So when Taylor announces a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom

Kiki Kallira: Book #1

By Sangu Mandanna
Narrated by: Zenia Starr
Length: TBA

For fans of the Aru Shah and Serpent's Secret series, this action-packed fantasy-adventure sees a girl's drawings of Indian mythology spring to vivid life--including the evil god who seeks to enter the real world and destroy it.

Kiki Kallira has always been a worrier. Did she lock the front door? Is there a terrible reason her mom is late?... Read more »

Audiobook details

Marcus Makes a Movie

By Kevin Hart & Geoff Rodkey
Narrated by: Kevin Hart
Length: 3 hours 8 minutes

Stand-up comedian and Hollywood box-office hit Kevin Hart keeps the laughs coming in a middle-grade novel about a boy who has big dreams of making a blockbuster superhero film. Perfect for readers of James Patterson's Middle School series and Lincoln Peirce's Big Nate series.
 
Marcus is NOT happy to be stuck in after-school film class . . .... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Sitting in St. James

By Rita Williams-Garcia
Narrated by: Machelle Williams
Length: 13 hours 20 minutes

A tour-de-force from three-time National Book Award finalist Rita Williams-Garcia, this story of an antebellum plantation—and the enduring legacies of slavery upon every person who lives there—is essential reading for both teens and adults grappling with the long history of American racism.

1860, Louisiana. After serving as mistress of Le Petit... Read more »

Audiobook details

Both Can Be True

By Jules Machias
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson & Kirby Heyborne
Length: 8 hours 1 minutes

Debut author Jules Machias explores identity, gender fluidity, and the power of friendship and acceptance in this dual-narrative Own Voices story about two kids who join forces to save a dog . . . but wind up saving each other.

Ash is no stranger to feeling like an outcast. For someone who cycles through genders, it’s a daily struggle to feel in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Da Vinci's Cat

By Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Narrated by: Sam Devereaux & Hope Newhouse
Length: 5 hours 56 minutes

Two unlikely friends—Federico, in sixteenth-century Rome, and Bee, in present-day New Jersey—are linked through an amiable cat, Leonardo Da Vinci’s mysterious wardrobe, and an eerily perfect sketch of Bee. Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s Da Vinci’s Cat is a thrilling, time-slip fantasy about rewriting history to save the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Healer of the Water Monster

By Brian Young
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

Brian Young’s powerful debut novel tells of a seemingly ordinary Navajo boy who must save the life of a Water Monster—and comes to realize he’s a hero at heart.

When Nathan goes to visit his grandma, Nali, at her mobile summer home on the Navajo reservation, he knows he’s in for a pretty uneventful summer, with no electricity or cell service.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Long Lost

By Jacqueline West
Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky
Length: 6 hours 26 minutes

Once there were two sisters who did everything together. But only one of them disappeared.

New York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West’s Long Lost is an atmospheric, eerie mystery brimming with suspense. Fans of Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces and Victoria Schwab’s City of Ghosts series will lose themselves in this mesmerizing and... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Shape of Thunder

By Jasmine Warga
Narrated by: Reena Dutt & Jennifer Jill Araya
Length: 7 hours 9 minutes

An extraordinary new novel from Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor–winning author of Other Words for Home, about loss and healing—and how friendship can be magical.

Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a year.

Despite living next door to each other, they exist in separate worlds of grief. Cora is still grappling with the death of her... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unsettled

By Reem Faruqi
Narrated by: Ariana Delawari
Length: 2 hours 28 minutes

For fans of Other Words for Home and Front Desk, this powerful, charming own voices immigration story follows a girl who moves from Karachi, Pakistan, to Peachtree City, Georgia, and must find her footing in a new world. Reem Faruqi is the ALA Notable author of award-winning Lailah's Lunchbox.

"A lyrical coming of age story exploring family,... Read more »

Audiobook details

How to Become a Planet

By Nicole Melleby
Narrated by: Rachel Jacobs
Length: 6 hours 52 minutes

For Pluto, summer has always started with a trip to the planetarium. It’s the launch to her favorite season, which also includes visits to the boardwalk arcade, working in her mom’s pizzeria, and her best friend Meredith’s birthday party. But this summer, none of that feels possible.
 
A month before the end of the school year, Pluto’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Boy

By Emmanuel Acho
Narrated by: Landon Woodson
Length: 4 hours 56 minutes

Adapted from Emmanuel Acho's New York Times bestseller Uncomfortable Conversations with a Black Man, comes an essential young listeners edition aimed at opening a dialogue about systemic racism with our youngest generation.

Young people have the power to affect sweeping change, and the key to mending the racial divide in America lies in giving... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ophie’s Ghosts

By Justina Ireland
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 7 hours 59 minutes

Ophie’s Ghosts

“This ghostly middle grade historical fiction book is exciting, mysterious and haunting (quite literally). I loved watching our main character Ophie grow up and into herself over the course of the book, and learning about 1920s Georgia and Philadelphia through her eyes as a young Black girl. I can see this book becoming an instant classic!”

Phoenix Books image Miriasha, Phoenix Books
Audiobook details

Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey

Maybe Marisol: Book #1

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Amielynn Abellera
Length: 1 hours 39 minutes

“Utterly endearing!” —Annie Barrows, New York Times-bestselling author of the Ivy + Bean books

"Hilarious and heart-melting.” —Sara Pennypacker, New York Times-bestselling author of Pax

Introducing eight-year-old Marisol Rainey—an irresistible new character from Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling Erin Entrada Kelly!

Maybe, Maybe... Read more »

Audiobook details

Best Nerds Forever

By James Patterson & Chris Grabenstein
Narrated by: Mark Sanderlin
Length: 4 hours 24 minutes

Best Nerds Forever

“"The best book I've read in my life."- Pippi, age 9. My 9 year old loves anything James Patterson and Chris Grabenstein do, from dressing as Max Einstein for Character Day at school to naming toy pets after Pasha and Poop from Scaredy Cat. Those we've listened to together on car trips but I recently set them up with a libro.fm account to see if they might choose to listen more on their own. Yesterday, on a car ride I went to put on an audio book and Pippi said "WAIT! I have to tell you about what I listened to yesterday- It's the best book I've ever read in my life." They proceeded to say," I don't want to spoil it for you but I don't want you to cry at the beginning" and then went into detail retelling me the story. Pippi told me all about the characters and plot development. Then they asked to see the cover and told me more about who was who and how the adventure unfolded as we meet the characters. There was questions about why characters might do something a certain way or what might be coming next. My child does not usually pick up books willingly but I'm realizing they enjoy audiobooks as much as I do. Knowing they are actively using Libro.fm to discover these books and getting excited to share books like these thrills me as a bookseller but of course, also as a parent. ”

Caprichos Books image Liz, Caprichos Books
Audiobook details

Fearless

Fearless

By Mandy Gonzalez
Narrated by: Mandy Gonzalez
Length: 5 hours 30 minutes

Fearless

Fearless is a super sweet juvenile novel narrated by the author, Broadway star Mandy Gonzalez. It's a Broadway debut meets ghost story as Monica Garcia travels cross-country with her abuela to begin rehearsals for her first Broadway show. It turns out that the historic theater they are in is cursed and Monica and the other child actors must team up to help dispel the curse and save the show. You get a behind-the-scenes look at how a Broadway show functions in rehearsal and backstage which is super fun. Gonzalez is also the perfect narrator, interspersing the text with snippets of lyrics from the imaginary show. This juvenile novel is great for an advance 8/9 years old to 12 year olds and would thoroughly engage fans of theater and underdog stories.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kimi, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Houdini and Me

By Dan Gutman
Narrated by: Mark Sanderlin
Length: 3 hours 18 minutes

Eleven-year-old Harry Mancini is not Harry Houdini, the famous escape artist who died in 1926. But Harry does live in Houdini’s old New York City home, and he definitely knows everything there is to know about Houdini’s life. What is he supposed to do, then, when someone starts texting him claiming that they’re Houdini, communicating from beyond... Read more »

Audiobook details

Starfish

By Lisa Fipps
Narrated by: Jenna Lamia
Length: 3 hours 27 minutes

Ellie is tired of being fat-shamed and does something about it in this poignant debut novel-in-verse.

Ever since Ellie wore a whale swimsuit and made a big splash at her fifth birthday party, she's been bullied about her weight. To cope, she tries to live by the Fat Girl Rules--like "no making waves," "avoid eating in public," and "don't move so... Read more »

Audiobook details

Blackbird Fly

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Ferdelle Capistrano
Length: 5 hours 33 minutes

Future rock star or friendless misfit? That’s no choice at all. In this acclaimed novel by Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly, twelve-year-old Apple grapples with being different; with friends and backstabbers; and with following her dreams.

Publishers Weekly called Blackbird Fly “a true triumph,” and the Los Angeles Times Book Review said,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Celebrate Pride Month with Libro.fm! Learn more