Skip navigation
Skip content
Audiobooks for Kids 9 to 12

Audiobooks for Kids 9 to 12

Older grade schoolers are ready for adventure. They want to explore new worlds, new ideas, new emotions, and are ready for narratives that can take them there. Introduce them to classics from your own childhood, and new books about young people finding their place in the world.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: tweens

View all playlists

Peter Lee's Notes from the Field

By Angela Ahn
Narrated by: Tony Kim
Length: 6 hours 34 minutes

Eleven-year-old Peter Lee has one goal in life: to become a paleontologist. But in one summer, that all falls apart. Told in short, accessible journal entries and combining the humor of Timmy Failure with the poignant family dynamics of Lynda Mullaly Hunt, Peter Lee will win readers' hearts.

Eleven year-old Peter Lee has one goal in life: to... Read more »

Audiobook details

How Do You Live?

By Genzaburo Yoshino
Narrated by: Brian Nishii
Length: 6 hours 13 minutes

The first English translation of the classic Japanese novel, a childhood favorite of anime master Hayao Miyazaki (Spirited Away, My Neighbor Totoro, Howl’s Moving Castle), with an introduction by Neil Gaiman. First published in 1937, Genzaburo Yoshino’s How Do You Live? has long been acknowledged in Japan as a crossover classic for young... Read more »

Audiobook details

Hide and Geek

Hide and Geek: Book #1

By T. P. Jagger
Narrated by: Danice Cabanela
Length: 6 hours 47 minutes

A puzzlemaker's last clue. A friendship's last chance.

The GEEKs:
Gina, Edgar, Elena, and Kevin have been best friends for as long as they can remember. So when their arch-nemesis points out that their initials make them literally GEEKs, they decide to go with it.
 
The problem:
The GEEKs’ hometown of Elmwood was once the headquarters of the famous... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Lock-Eater

By Zack Loran Clark
Narrated by: Ann Marie Lee
Length: 11 hours 26 minutes

"Will have readers tumbling through the pages . . . Deeply immersive, full of both heft and humor." —Soman Chainani, New York Times bestselling author of The School for Good and Evil series
 
* "One of those special books that only comes around every so often . . . An absolute revelation." —SLJ (starred review)
 
For fans of Nevermoor and Howl's...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Operation Sisterhood

By Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich
Narrated by: Kristen Ariza
Length: 8 hours 39 minutes

Fans of the Netflix reboot of The Babysitters Club will delight as four new sisters band together in the heart of New York City. Discover this jubilant novel about the difficulties of change, the loyalty of sisters, and the love of family from a prolific award-winning author.

"[A] jubilant middle grade novel." -The New York Times
 
Bo and her mom... Read more »

Audiobook details

Orphans of the Tide

Orphans of the Tide: Book #1

By Struan Murray
Narrated by: Georgina Campbell & Lucian Msamati
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

An ancient myth looms over a powerful new friendship in this debut middle grade fantasy packed with Hugo Cabret charm.

The City is the only home that Ellie has ever known. She’s always been told that there is nothing to see beyond the shores of her small, salty island.

That is, until a mysterious boy washes in with the tide, trapped inside the...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Strangeville School Is Totally Normal

Strangeville School

By Darcy Miller
Narrated by: Mark Sanderlin
Length: 3 hours 49 minutes

This new series is guaranteed to make you laugh so hard milk will come out of your nose! Strangeville School is the wackiest, most dangerous school you will ever attend...and you'll desperately want to come back for more!

Harvey Hill just wants other kids to think he’s normal. So he’s happy to start fresh as the newest kid at Strangeville Middle... Read more »

Audiobook details

When Winter Robeson Came

By Brenda Woods
Narrated by: Keylor Leigh
Length: 2 hours 17 minutes

The whole world seems to transform during the summer of 1965, when Eden’s cousin from Mississippi comes to visit her in L.A. just as the Watts Riots erupt, in this stirring new novel by Coretta Scott King Honor winner Brenda Woods.

When Eden’s cousin Winter comes for a visit, it turns out he’s not just there to sightsee. He wants to figure out... Read more »

Audiobook details

Harriet the Spy (TV Tie-In Edition)

By Louise Fitzhugh
Narrated by: Anne Bobby
Length: 6 hours 43 minutes

Features an exclusive bonus interview with the Apple TV+ animated series stars, Golden Globe nominee Beanie Feldstein (the voice of Harriet) and Emmy Award winner Jane Lynch (the voice of Ole Golly).

Harriet M. Welsch is a spy. In her notebook, she writes down everything she knows about everyone, even her classmates and her best friends. Then... Read more »

Audiobook details

Just Roll with It

(A Graphic Novel)
Just Roll with It: Book #1

By Veronica Agarwal & Lee Durfey-Lavoie
Narrated by: Sheena Kamal, Danice Cabanela, Almarie Guerra & Full Cast
Length: 2 hours 13 minutes

Starting middle school is hard enough when you don't know anyone; it's even harder when you're shy. A contemporary middle-grade graphic novel for fans of Guts and Real Friends about how dealing with anxiety and OCD can affect everyday life — now adapted for audio.

As long as Maggie rolls the right number, nothing can go wrong...right?
 
Maggie just... Read more »

Audiobook details

Where Snow Angels Go

By Maggie O'Farrell
Narrated by: Ruth Negga
Length: 35 minutes

What happens to a snow angel after you leave it behind? A little girl discovers that answer when she meets an unusual protector in this gorgeous modern fairy tale. Read more »

Audiobook details

Stuntboy, in the Meantime

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by: Guy Lockard, Nile Bullock, Angel Pean, James Fouhey, Soneela Nankani, Leon Nixon, Chanté McCormick, Lamarr Gulley & DePre Owens
Length: 2 hours 47 minutes

AudioFile Magazine’s Best Audiobooks of 2021

From Newbery Medal honoree and #1 New York Times bestselling author Jason Reynolds comes a hilarious, hopeful, and action-packed middle grade novel about the greatest young superhero you’ve never heard of, filled with illustrations by Raúl the Third!

Portico Reeves’s superpower is making sure all the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Neverforgotten

By Alejandra Algorta
Narrated by: Andres Macias Hernandez & Christopher Salazar
Length: 3 hours 23 minutes

Fabio flies through the streets of Bogotá on his bicycle, the children of his neighborhood trailing behind him. It is there that life feels right—where the world of adults, and their lies, fades away. But then one day, he simply forgets. Forgets how to ride his bicycle. And Fabio will never be the same again. From Colombia comes a special... Read more »

Audiobook details

Buster

By Caleb Zane Huett
Narrated by: Pete Cross
Length: 6 hours 43 minutes

Buster's a therapy dog who needs to take matters into his own paws to help a boy understand his own anxiety… even if it means breaking a few rules. Read more »

Audiobook details

Cold-Blooded Myrtle

Myrtle Hardcastle: Book #3

By Elizabeth C. Bunce
Narrated by: Bethan Rose Young
Length: 8 hours 28 minutes

When the proprietor of Leighton’s Mercantile is found dead the morning his annual Christmas display is to be unveiled, it’s clear that a killer had revenge in mind. But who would want to harm the local shopkeeper? Perhaps someone who still remembers the mysterious scandal that destroyed his career as a professor and archaeologist … The... Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

Fifty-Four Things Wrong with Gwendolyn Rogers

By Caela Carter
Narrated by: Hope Newhouse
Length: 8 hours 22 minutes

From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes a moving own-voices story that shines a light on how one girl’s learning differences are neither right nor wrong…just perfectly individual. For fans of Alyson Gerber, Cammie McGovern, and Kathryn Erskine.

No one can figure out...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Barakah Beats

By Maleeha Siddiqui
Narrated by: Salena Qureshi
Length: 5 hours 19 minutes

Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic school, but now it's time to go to "real school." Nimra's nervous, but as long as she has Jenna, her best friend who already goes to the public school, she figures she can take on just about anything. Unfortunately, middle school is hard. The teachers are mean, the schedule is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Playing the Cards You're Dealt

By Varian Johnson
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 6 hours 6 minutes

SECRETS ARE ALWAYS A GAMBLE Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which means he's finally old enough to play in the spades tournament every Joplin Man before him seems to have won. So while Ant's friends are stressing about fifth grade homework and girls, Ant only has one thing on his mind: how he'll measure up to his... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

By Anne Ursu
Narrated by: Elise Arsenault
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

From the acclaimed author of The Real Boy and The Lost Girl comes a wondrous and provocative fantasy about a kingdom beset by monsters, a mysterious school, and a girl caught in between them.

If no one notices Marya Lupu, is likely because of her brother, Luka. And that’s because of what everyone knows: that Luka is destined to become a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Frankie & Bug

By Gayle Forman
Narrated by: Stockard Channing
Length: 5 hours 21 minutes

If you enjoyed Front Desk, then you’ll love Frankie & Bug.

“I listened to the audiobook, narrated by Stockard Channing. Incredible. She brought so much to the story with her inflection. The story of Frankie and Bug is so good and delicately handles situations similar to Front Desk. Kids know when something is not right, and they're not scared to address it. The kids have amazing role models in their life. What a difference it makes as they experience situations, hardships, and more.”

Roundabout Books image Sara, Roundabout Books
Audiobook details