Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference

Audiobooks for Kids 9 to 12

Older grade schoolers are ready for adventure. They want to explore new worlds, new ideas, new emotions, and are ready for narratives that can take them there. Introduce them to classics from your own childhood, and new books about young people finding their place in the world.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: tweens

View all playlists

Cold-Blooded Myrtle

Myrtle Hardcastle: Book #3

By Elizabeth C. Bunce
Narrated by: Bethan Rose Young
Length: 8 hours 28 minutes

When the proprietor of Leighton’s Mercantile is found dead the morning his annual Christmas display is to be unveiled, it’s clear that a killer had revenge in mind. But who would want to harm the local shopkeeper? Perhaps someone who still remembers the mysterious scandal that destroyed his career as a professor and archaeologist … The... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fifty-Four Things Wrong with Gwendolyn Rogers

By Caela Carter
Narrated by: Hope Newhouse
Length: 8 hours 22 minutes

From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes a moving own-voices story that shines a light on how one girl’s learning differences are neither right nor wrong…just perfectly individual. For fans of Alyson Gerber, Cammie McGovern, and Kathryn Erskine.

No one can figure out...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Barakah Beats

By Maleeha Siddiqui
Narrated by: Salena Qureshi
Length: 5 hours 19 minutes

Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic school, but now it's time to go to "real school." Nimra's nervous, but as long as she has Jenna, her best friend who already goes to the public school, she figures she can take on just about anything. Unfortunately, middle school is hard. The teachers are mean, the schedule is... Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Playing the Cards You're Dealt

By Varian Johnson
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 6 hours 6 minutes

SECRETS ARE ALWAYS A GAMBLE Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which means he's finally old enough to play in the spades tournament every Joplin Man before him seems to have won. So while Ant's friends are stressing about fifth grade homework and girls, Ant only has one thing on his mind: how he'll measure up to his... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

By Anne Ursu
Narrated by: Elise Arsenault
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

From the acclaimed author of The Real Boy and The Lost Girl comes a wondrous and provocative fantasy about a kingdom beset by monsters, a mysterious school, and a girl caught in between them.

If no one notices Marya Lupu, is likely because of her brother, Luka. And that’s because of what everyone knows: that Luka is destined to become a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Frankie & Bug

By Gayle Forman
Narrated by: Stockard Channing
Length: 5 hours 21 minutes

Frankie & Bug

“Forman does a fabulous job capturing the voices of all her characters: Frankie and Bug are filled with wonder and naivety, the adults with quiet compassion and strength, even Daniel with blossoming teenage confidence. And Stockard Channing does a fabulous job bringing these voices to life!!! I was immediately drawn into the lives of these characters which is so different from my East Coast experiences. Wonderful story about being who you are.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kristine, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Lupe Wong Won't Dance

By Donna Barba Higuera
Length: 7 hours 14 minutes

My gym shorts burrow into my butt crack like a frightened groundhog.Don't you want to read a book that starts like that??Lupe Wong is going to be the first female pitcher in the Major Leagues.She's also championed causes her whole young life. Some worthy...like expanding the options for race on school tests beyond just a few bubbles. And some...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Lupe Wong No Baila

By Donna Barba Higuera
Narrated by: Marcela Alcaraz
Length: 6 hours 43 minutes

Lupe Wong quiere ser la primera lanzadora femenina en las Grandes Ligas.Durante toda su infancia, ha defendido causas. Algunas dignas.como la expansión de las opciones de raza en los examines escolares, para que sean más allá de unas pocas posibilidades. Y otras menos.como quejarse al canal BBC sobre la duración entre temporadas de Doctor... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amira & Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds

By Samira Ahmed
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 8 hours 12 minutes

From bestselling author Samira Ahmed comes a thrilling fantasy adventure intertwining Islamic legend and history, perfect for fans of Aru Shah and the Land of Stories.
 
On the day of a rare super blue blood moon eclipse, twelve-year-old Amira and her little brother, Hamza, can’t stop their bickering while attending a special exhibit on medieval... Read more »

Audiobook details

Beasts and Beauty

Dangerous Tales

By Soman Chainani
Narrated by: Polly Lee
Length: 6 hours 7 minutes

You think you know these stories, don’t you?

You are wrong.

You don’t know them at all.

Twelve tales, twelve dangerous tales of mystery, magic, and rebellious hearts. Each twists like a spindle to reveal truths full of warning and triumph, truths that free hearts long kept tame, truths that explore life . . . and death.

A prince has a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Egg Marks the Spot (Skunk and Badger 2)

By Amy Timberlake
Narrated by: Michael Boatman
Length: 3 hours 54 minutes

Egg Marks the Spot (Skunk and Badger 2)

“Skunk and Badger are back in book two of Amy Timberlake's new middle-grade series. Jon Klassen's illustrations bring this animal buddy book to life as both friends wrestle with a nagging issue in this installment. Badger yearns for his stolen Spider Eye Agate while Skunk is more than upset that someone is consistently snitching the New Yak Times Book Review. Egg Marks the Spot is a book that parents and caregivers will look forward to reading aloud, though I suggest you find an inquisitive grade-schooler to do the honors.”

Avid Bookshop image Rachel, Avid Bookshop
Audiobook details

Dead Wednesday

By Jerry Spinelli
Narrated by: Kirby Heyborne
Length: 5 hours

Can playing dead bring you back to life? Maybe only on Dead Wednesday… On this day the worlds of a shy boy and a gone girl collide, and the connection they make will change them both forever. A brilliant new novel from the Newbery Medal winner and author of the New York Times bestseller Stargirl.
 
"Jerry Spinelli has created another middle grade...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Classified

The Secret Career of Mary Golda Ross, Cherokee Aerospace Engineer

By Traci Sorell
Narrated by: DeLanna Studi, Traci Sorell & John Ross
Length: 20 minutes

Mary Golda Ross designed classified airplanes and spacecraft as Lockheed Aircraft Corporation's first female engineer. This story traces her journey from being the only girl in a high-school math class to becoming a teacher to pursuing an engineering degree, joining the top-secret Skunk Works division of Lockheed, and being a mentor for Native... Read more »

Audiobook details

Linked

By Gordon Korman
Narrated by: Preston Butler, III, Christopher Gebauer, Maxwell Glick, Cassandra Morris, Mark Sanderlin & Sandy Rustin
Length: 6 hours 33 minutes

You can't deny something is wrong when it's right there in front of you. Link, Michael, and Dana live in a quiet town. But it’s woken up very quickly when someone sneaks into school and vandalizes it with a swastika. Nobody can believe it. How could such a symbol of hate end up in the middle of their school? Who would do such a thing? ... Read more »

Audiobook details

Pony

By R. J. Palacio
Narrated by: Ian M. Hawkins & R. J. Palacio
Length: 7 hours 13 minutes

INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The worldwide phenomenon Wonder showed over 13 million readers how to choose kind. Now, the #1 New York Times bestselling author is back with an enthralling adventure that will show readers how to choose courage. A modern classic about a boy on a quest to rescue his father, with only a ghost as his companion... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Soft Place to Land

By Janae Marks
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 6 hours 7 minutes

In this compelling and heartfelt mystery story, Janae Marks—author of the critically acclaimed bestselling From the Desk of Zoe Washington—follows a young girl reshaping her meaning of home. Perfect for fans of Erin Entrada Kelly and Rebecca Stead.

“Joyful. A book that kids will love.” —Rebecca Stead, Newbery Medal-winning author of When You...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Beatryce Prophecy

By Kate DiCamillo
Narrated by: Finty Williams
Length: 4 hours 19 minutes

From two-time Newbery Medalist Kate DiCamillo and two-time Caldecott Medalist Sophie Blackall comes a fantastical meditation on fate, love, and the power of words to spell the world.

We shall all, in the end, be led to where we belong. We shall all, in the end, find our way home.

In a time of war, a mysterious child appears at the monastery of the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom

Kiki Kallira: Book #1

By Sangu Mandanna
Narrated by: Zenia Starr
Length: 7 hours 4 minutes

For fans of the Aru Shah and Serpent's Secret series, this action-packed fantasy-adventure sees a girl's drawings of Indian mythology spring to vivid life--including the evil god who seeks to enter the real world and destroy it.

Kiki Kallira has always been a worrier. Did she lock the front door? Is there a terrible reason her mom is late?... Read more »

Audiobook details

Weird Kid

By Greg van Eekhout
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Length: 3 hours 47 minutes

From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don’t belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb.

Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Last Super Chef

By Chris Negron
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: 9 hours 42 minutes

Family and food take center stage in this heartfelt middle grade story perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Antony John.

For as long as he can remember, Curtis Pith has been obsessed with becoming a chef like Lucas Taylor, host of Super Chef. And Curtis has a secret: Taylor is actually his long-absent father.

So when Taylor announces a...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference