Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Kids’ Next

The Kids' Next list is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorites for kids ranging from 4-year-olds to teens. The audiobook titles below have recently appeared on this list.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: teens audience: tweens topic: indie next topic: kids next

View all playlists

Blackout

By Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk & Nicola Yoon
Narrated by: Joniece Abbott-Pratt, Dion Graham, Imani Parks, Jordan Cobb, Shayna Small, A.J Beckles & Bahni Turpin
Length: 6 hours 55 minutes

Six critically acclaimed, bestselling, and award-winning authors bring the glowing warmth and electricity of Black teen love to this interlinked novel of charming, hilarious, and heartwarming stories that shine a bright light through the dark.

A summer heatwave blankets New York City in darkness. But as the city is thrown into confusion, a...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Box in the Woods

By Maureen Johnson
Narrated by: Kate Rudd
Length: 9 hours 12 minutes

After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell investigates her first mystery outside of Ellingham Academy in this spine-chilling and hilarious stand-alone mystery from New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson.

Amateur sleuth Stevie Bell needs a good murder. After catching a killer at her high school, she’s back at home for a...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Don't Hate the Player…Hate the Game

By Katie Ashley
Narrated by: Tim Paige
Length: 7 hours 31 minutes

For Noah Sullivan, being the best friend of Jake Nelson has never been easy. It's been a rocky road since kindergarten when Jake duct taped Noah to his chair before recess. With just six weeks to high school graduation, Jake accidentally blows his drunken ass up on his grandfather's tractor, and Noah finds himself immersed not only in a... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Passing Playbook

By Isaac Fitzsimons
Narrated by: Jamie K. Brown
Length: 7 hours

Love, Simon meets Bend It Like Beckham in this feel-good contemporary romance about a trans athlete who must decide between fighting for his right to play and staying stealth.

“A sharply observant and vividly drawn debut. I loved every minute I spent in this story, and I’ve never rooted harder for a jock in my life.” – New York Times bestselling... Read more »
Audiobook details

Rise to the Sun (Unabridged edition)

By Leah Johnson
Narrated by: Lexi Underwood & Alaska Jackson
Length: 7 hours 33 minutes

Rise to the Sun (Unabridged edition)

“Leah Johnson is officially an auto-buy for me. I honest to goodness could not stop marking this book, nor did I realize just how much I needed it. From the off, Toni and Olivia's journeys were some sort of catharsis, healing my soul even after only two chapters. By the end, my eyes were run over and my cheeks were salty. This one's for the musicians. This one's for everyone who's been missing the way live music grabs you and won't let go. This one's for the lonely-hearted and those who've been told they're too big. And believe me when I say, you're going to want to shed tears while listening too.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

The River Has Teeth

By Erica Waters
Narrated by: Katherine Littrell & Sura Siu
Length: 11 hours 4 minutes

Lush and chilling, with razor-sharp edges and an iron core of hope, this bewitching, powerhouse novel of two girls fighting back against the violence the world visits on them will stun and enchant readers.

Girls have been going missing in the woods…

When Natasha’s sister disappears, Natasha desperately turns to Della, a local girl rumored to be a...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Sea Is Salt and So Am I

By Cassandra Hartt
Narrated by: Lori Gardner, Nick Mills & Tom Picasso
Length: 12 hours 27 minutes

West Finch is one hurricane away from falling into the sea. Yet sixteen-year-old Harlow Prout is determined to save her small Maine hometown. If only she could stop getting in her own way and find someone—anyone—willing to help. But her best friend, Ellis MacQueen, “fixes” problems by running away from them—including his broken relationship... Read more »
Audiobook details

Six Crimson Cranes

Six Crimson Cranes: Book #1

By Elizabeth Lim
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 12 hours 53 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

"A dazzling fairytale full of breathtaking storytelling." --Stephanie Garber,... Read more »
Audiobook details

We Can't Keep Meeting Like This

By Rachel Lynn Solomon
Narrated by: Carly Robins
Length: 9 hours 25 minutes

A wedding harpist disillusioned with love and a hopeless romantic cater-waiter flirt and fight their way through a summer of weddings in this effervescent romantic comedy from the acclaimed author of Today Tonight Tomorrow.

Quinn Berkowitz and Tarek Mansour’s families have been in business together for years: Quinn’s parents are wedding planners,... Read more »
Audiobook details

Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom

Kiki Kallira: Book #1

By Sangu Mandanna
Narrated by: Zenia Starr
Length: 7 hours 4 minutes

For fans of the Aru Shah and Serpent's Secret series, this action-packed fantasy-adventure sees a girl's drawings of Indian mythology spring to vivid life--including the evil god who seeks to enter the real world and destroy it.

Kiki Kallira has always been a worrier. Did she lock the front door? Is there a terrible reason her mom is late?... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Last Super Chef

By Chris Negron
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: 9 hours 42 minutes

Family and food take center stage in this heartfelt middle grade story perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Antony John.

For as long as he can remember, Curtis Pith has been obsessed with becoming a chef like Lucas Taylor, host of Super Chef. And Curtis has a secret: Taylor is actually his long-absent father.

So when Taylor announces a...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Weird Kid

By Greg van Eekhout
Narrated by: James Fouhey
Length: 3 hours 47 minutes

From the author of Cog and Voyage of the Dogs, Weird Kid is a hilarious and heartfelt homage to everyone who feels like they don’t belong. Perfect for fans of Gordon Korman and Stuart Gibb.

Jake Wind is trying to stay under the radar. Whose radar? Anyone who might be too interested in the fact that he has shapeshifting abilities he can’t...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Tokyo Ever After

A Novel
Tokyo Ever After: Book #1

By Emiko Jean
Narrated by: Ali Ahn
Length: 9 hours 33 minutes

"Narrator Ali Ahn gives this young adult rom-com fun doses of personality and sass...Ahn's accents and Japanese pronunciations ring true as she clearly differentiates characters of different ages and nationalities." -- AudioFile Magazine

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK!

The Princess Diaries
meets Crazy Rich Asians in Emiko...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Ace of Spades

By Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Narrated by: Tapiwa Mugweni & Jeanette Illidge
Length: 13 hours 48 minutes

This program includes an author's note read by the author.

Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.

All you need to know is . . . I’m here to divide and conquer. Like all great tyrants do....

Read more »
Audiobook details

Cool for the Summer

By Dahlia Adler
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 6 hours 20 minutes

"Witty, wise, and disarmingly tender. I am hopelessly devoted to this summer dream of a book."--Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda

Dahlia Adler's Cool for the Summer is a story of self-discovery and new love. It’s about the things we want and the things we need. And it’s about the people who...

Read more »
Audiobook details

The Girl From the Sea

By Molly Knox Ostertag
Length: 1 hours 24 minutes

Fifteen-year-old Morgan has a secret: She can't wait to escape the perfect little island where she lives. She's desperate to finish
high school and escape her sad divorced mom, her volatile little brother, and worst of all, her great group of friends...who don't
understand Morgan at all. Because really, Morgan's biggest secret is that she has a...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Instructions for Dancing

By Nicola Yoon
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 7 hours 48 minutes

THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically acclaimed author of Everything, Everything and The Sun is Also a Star is back with her eagerly anticipated third novel. With all the heart and hope of her last two books, this is an utterly unique romance.

Evie Thomas doesn't believe in love anymore. Especially after the strangest thing... Read more »
Audiobook details

Last Chance Books

By Kelsey Rodkey
Narrated by: Siho Ellsmore
Length: 10 hours 7 minutes

You’ve Got Mail meets Morgan Matson in this smart, banter-filled romcom with a bookish twist.

Nothing will stop Madeline Moore from taking over her family’s independent bookstore after college. Nothing, that is—until a chain bookstore called Prologue opens across the street and threatens to shut them down.

Madeline sets out to demolish the...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Pumpkin

Dumplin’

By Julie Murphy
Narrated by: Chad Burris
Length: 7 hours 19 minutes

Return to the beloved world of Julie Murphy’s #1 New York Times bestselling Dumplin’—now a popular Netflix feature film starring Jennifer Aniston—in this fabulously joyful, final companion novel about drag, prom, and embracing your inner Queen.

Waylon Russell Brewer is a fat, openly gay boy stuck in the small West Texas town of Clover City. His...

Read more »
Audiobook details

Realm Breaker

By Victoria Aveyard
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 16 hours 33 minutes

Irresistibly action-packed and full of lethal surprises, this stunning new fantasy series from Victoria Aveyard, #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Red Queen series, begins where hope is lost and asks: When the heroes have fallen, who will take up the sword?

A strange darkness grows in Allward.

Even Corayne an-Amarat can feel it,...

Read more »
Audiobook details