Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Kids' Next

The Kids' Next list is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorites for kids ranging from 4-year-olds to teens. The audiobook titles below have recently appeared on this list.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: teens audience: tweens topic: indie next topic: kids next

View all playlists

Soulswift

By Megan Bannen
Narrated by: Hayden Bishop
Length: 12 hours 18 minutes

A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink everything she believes after she is betrayed and hunted by the religion that raised her—from Megan Bannen, author of The Bird and the Blade. Perfect for fans of The Winner’s Curse and The Girl of Fire and Thorns.

Gelya is a Vessel, a girl who channels the word of the One True God through song.... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Sea in Winter

By Christine Day
Narrated by: Kimberly Woods
Length: 4 hours 25 minutes

In this evocative and heartwarming novel for readers who loved The Thing About Jellyfish, the author of I Can Make This Promise tells the story of a Native American girl struggling to find her joy again.

It’s been a hard year for Maisie Cannon, ever since she hurt her leg and could not keep up with her ballet training and auditions.

Her blended... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amari and the Night Brothers

Supernatural Investigations: Book #1

By B. B. Alston
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 11 hours 11 minutes

Artemis Fowl meets Men in Black in this exhilarating debut middle grade fantasy, the first in a trilogy filled with #blackgirlmagic. Perfect for fans of Tristan Strong Punches a Hole in the Sky, the Percy Jackson series, and Nevermoor.

Amari Peters has never stopped believing her missing brother, Quinton, is alive. Not even when the police told... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Valley and the Flood

By Rebecca Mahoney
Narrated by: Phoebe Strole
Length: 10 hours 28 minutes

"A tense and beautiful tale about the monsters we make and the memories that haunt us." --Kate Alice Marshall, author of I Am Still Alive and Rules for Vanishing

Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back there yet. When her car breaks down in the Nevada desert, the silence of the night is broken by a radio broadcast of a voicemail message... Read more »

Audiobook details

Instant Karma

By Marissa Meyer
Narrated by: Rebecca Soler
Length: 14 hours 13 minutes

In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult contemporary romance, a girl is suddenly gifted with the ability to cast instant karma on those around her – both good and bad.

Chronic overachiever Prudence Daniels is always quick to cast judgment on the lazy, rude, and arrogant residents of her coastal town. Her dreams of karmic... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Cousins

By Karen M. McManus
Narrated by: Sarah Skaer, Kate Reinders, David Garelik & Julia Whelan
Length: 9 hours 28 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER From the bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying comes your next obsession. You'll never feel the same about family again.

Milly, Aubrey, and Jonah Story are cousins, but they barely know each another, and they've never even met their grandmother. Rich and reclusive, she disinherited their parents before they were... Read more »

Audiobook details

Rent a Boyfriend

By Gloria Chao
Narrated by: Feodor Chin & Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 9 hours 56 minutes

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before meets The Farewell in this incisive romantic comedy about a college student who hires a fake boyfriend to appease her traditional Taiwanese parents, to disastrous results, from the acclaimed author of American Panda.

Chloe Wang is nervous to introduce her parents to her boyfriend, because the truth is, she hasn’t... Read more »

Audiobook details

One of the Good Ones

By Maika Moulite & Maritza Moulite
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin, Jordan Cobb & Carolyn Smith
Length: 9 hours 49 minutes

A shockingly powerful exploration of the lasting impact of prejudice and the indomitable spirit of sisterhood that will have readers questioning what it truly means to be an ally, from sister-writer duo Maika Moulite and Maritza Moulite, authors of Dear Haiti, Love Alaine.

ISN’T BEING HUMAN ENOUGH?

When teen social activist and history buff Kezi... Read more »

Audiobook details

When you shop at your local bookstore, you are directly supporting and enriching your own community with your purchases—and your tax dollars.

Join the movement and #ShopLocalBookstores.

Learn more

The Love Curse of Melody McIntyre

By Robin Talley
Narrated by: Jennifer Jill Araya
Length: 12 hours

Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Nina LaCour, this #ownvoices romantic comedy from New York Times bestselling author Robin Talley has something for everyone: backstage rendezvous, deadly props, and a seemingly insurmountable obstacle to True Love.

Melody McIntyre, stage manager extraordinaire, has a plan for everything.

What she doesn’t... Read more »

Audiobook details

Happily Ever Afters

By Elise Bryant
Narrated by: Jordan Cobb
Length: 10 hours 18 minutes

Jane the Virgin meets To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before in this charming debut romantic comedy filled with Black Girl Magic. Perfect for fans of Mary H. K. Choi and Nicola Yoon, with crossover appeal for readers of Jasmine Guillory and Talia Hibbert romances.

Sixteen-year-old Tessa Johnson has never felt like the protagonist in her own life.... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Good Girls

By Claire Eliza Bartlett
Narrated by: Lauren Ezzo, Tara Sands, Sarah Mollo-Christensen, Hope Newhouse, Hayden Bishop, James Fouhey & Andrew Eiden
Length: 9 hours 55 minutes

One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this twisty, feminist thriller for the Me Too era.

The troublemaker. The overachiever. The cheer captain. The dead girl. Like every high school in America, Jefferson-Lorne High contains all of the above.

After the shocking murder of senior Emma Baines, three of her classmates are at the top of the suspect list:... Read more »

Audiobook details

Chasing Lucky

By Jenn Bennett
Narrated by: Rebekkah Ross
Length: 10 hours 28 minutes

In this coming-of-age romance perfect for fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen, scandal and romance collide when an ambitious teen returns to her hometown only to have her plans interrupted after falling for the town’s “bad boy”—a.k.a. her childhood best friend.

Sometimes to find the good, you have to embrace the bad.

Budding photographer Josie... Read more »

Audiobook details

Be Dazzled

By Ryan La Sala
Length:

Raffy has a passion for bedazzling. Not just bedazzling, but sewing, stitching, draping, pattern making?for creation. He's always chosen his art over everything?and everyone?else and is determined to make his mark at this year's biggest cosplay competition. If he can wow there, it could lead to sponsorship, then art school, and finally earning... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Camelot Betrayal

Camelot Rising Trilogy: Book #2

By Kiersten White
Narrated by: Elizabeth Knowelden
Length: 11 hours 46 minutes

The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Kiersten White, exploring the nature of self, the inevitable cost of progress, and, of course, magic and romance and betrayal so epic Queen Guinevere remains the most famous queen who never lived.

EVERYTHING IS AS IT SHOULD BE IN CAMELOT: King Arthur is expanding his... Read more »

Audiobook details

Last Night at the Telegraph Club

By Malinda Lo
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 12 hours 25 minutes

Acclaimed author of Ash Malinda Lo returns with her most personal and ambitious novel yet, a gripping story of love and duty set in San Francisco's Chinatown during the 1950s.

"That book. It was about two women, and they fell in love with each other." And then Lily asked the question that had taken root in her, that was even now unfurling its... Read more »

Audiobook details

You Have a Match

A Novel

By Emma Lord
Narrated by: Eva Kaminsky
Length: 8 hours 56 minutes

A new love, a secret sister, and a summer she'll never forget.

From the beloved author of Tweet Cute comes Emma Lord's You Have a Match, a hilarious and heartfelt novel of romance, sisterhood, and friendship...

When Abby signs up for a DNA service, it’s mainly to give her friend and secret love interest, Leo, a nudge. After all, she knows who she... Read more »

Audiobook details

Unplugged

By Gordon Korman
Narrated by: A.J. Beckles, Maxwell Glick, Vikas Adam, Reba Buhr, Sarah Mollo-Christensen & Barrett Leddy
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

From New York Times bestselling author Gordon Korman comes a hilarious middle grade novel about a group of kids forced to “unplug” at a wellness camp—where they instead find intrigue, adventure, and a whole lot of chaos. Perfect for fans of Korman’s The Unteachables and Masterminds series, as well as Carl Hiaasen’s eco mysteries.

As the son of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Sky Song

By Abi Elphinstone
Narrated by: Nicky Diss
Length: 7 hours 6 minutes

“A thrillingly wild adventure.” —Jonathan Stroud, author of the Lockwood and Co. and Bartimaeus series

A cursed girl and a young inventor join forces to search for an ancient, forgotten song with the power to bring down a wicked Queen in this epic fantasy adventure perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Furthermore.

The snowy kingdom... Read more »

Audiobook details

Serena Says

By Tanita S. Davis
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 5 hours 34 minutes

Award-winning author Tanita S. Davis delivers a heartwarming and humorous middle grade tale about a young Black girl who finds her own voice through vlogging and learns to speak out. Perfect for fans for Sharon M. Draper and Lisa Greenwald.

JC shines like a 4th of July sparkler. She has the best ideas, the biggest, funniest laugh, and the party... Read more »

Audiobook details

Root Magic

By Eden Royce
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 9 hours 54 minutes

“A poignant, necessary entry into the children’s literary canon, Root Magic brings to life the history and culture of Gullah people while highlighting the timeless plight of Black Americans. Add in a fun, magical adventure and you get everything I want in a book!”—Justina Ireland, New York Times bestselling author of Dread Nation

Debut author... Read more »

Audiobook details