Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference

Kids’ Next

The Kids' Next list is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorites for kids ranging from 4-year-olds to teens. The audiobook titles below have recently appeared on this list.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: teens audience: tweens topic: indie next topic: kids next

View all playlists

Vespertine

By Margaret Rogerson
Narrated by: Caitlin Davies
Length: 12 hours 6 minutes

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens comes a thrilling new YA fantasy about a teen girl with mythic abilities who must defend her world against restless spirits of the dead.

The dead of Loraille do not rest.

Artemisia is training to be a Gray Sister, a nun who cleanses the bodies of the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amos McGee Misses the Bus

By Philip C. Stead
Narrated by: Ell Potter
Length: TBA

10 years after the phenomenally successful, Caldecott Medal-winning classic, A Sick Day for Amos McGee, we get to meet back up with the gang in a brand new, heartwarming story.

Amos McGee, a friendly zookeeper, is very considerate and always on time. But after a late night planning a surprise for all his friends, Amos is tired. So tired that he...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Gladys the Magic Chicken

By Adam Rubin
Narrated by: Adam Rubin
Length: 14 minutes

From the mega-bestselling author of Dragons Love Tacos and the mega-bestselling illustrator of The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors, comes this hilarious new picture book about an irresistible chicken who unexpectedly finds herself on an epic journey during Ancient Times, adaped for audio.

Gladys the chicken must be magic. After all, for everyone... Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Our Table

By Peter H. Reynolds
Narrated by: Peter H. Reynolds
Length: 10 minutes

Celebrated, bestselling creator Peter H. Reynolds brings his signature touch of love and kindness to this special, timely story, as families now, more than ever, are rediscovering and reevaluating what means the most: time together with one another. Violet longs for the time when her family was connected: before life, distractions, and... Read more »

Audiobook details

African Icons

Ten People Who Shaped History

By Tracey Baptiste
Narrated by: Karne Chilton
Length: 3 hours 39 minutes

In a richly designed work with maps, portraits, and graphics throughout, the award-winning author of the Jumbies series shows readers this underrepresented side of Black history and Black excellence.

Every year, American schoolchildren celebrate Black History Month. They study almost exclusively American stories, which are not only rooted in...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Barakah Beats

By Maleeha Siddiqui
Narrated by: Salena Qureshi
Length: 5 hours 19 minutes

Twelve-year-old Nimra Sharif has spent her whole life in Islamic school, but now it's time to go to "real school." Nimra's nervous, but as long as she has Jenna, her best friend who already goes to the public school, she figures she can take on just about anything. Unfortunately, middle school is hard. The teachers are mean, the schedule is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Cold-Blooded Myrtle

Myrtle Hardcastle: Book #3

By Elizabeth C. Bunce
Narrated by: Bethan Rose Young
Length: 8 hours 28 minutes

When the proprietor of Leighton’s Mercantile is found dead the morning his annual Christmas display is to be unveiled, it’s clear that a killer had revenge in mind. But who would want to harm the local shopkeeper? Perhaps someone who still remembers the mysterious scandal that destroyed his career as a professor and archaeologist … The... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fifty-Four Things Wrong with Gwendolyn Rogers

By Caela Carter
Narrated by: Hope Newhouse
Length: 8 hours 22 minutes

From the critically acclaimed author of the ALA Notable and Charlotte Huck Honor Book Forever, or a Long, Long Time comes a moving own-voices story that shines a light on how one girl’s learning differences are neither right nor wrong…just perfectly individual. For fans of Alyson Gerber, Cammie McGovern, and Kathryn Erskine.

No one can figure out...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Frankie & Bug

By Gayle Forman
Narrated by: Stockard Channing
Length: 5 hours 21 minutes

Frankie & Bug

“Forman does a fabulous job capturing the voices of all her characters: Frankie and Bug are filled with wonder and naivety, the adults with quiet compassion and strength, even Daniel with blossoming teenage confidence. And Stockard Channing does a fabulous job bringing these voices to life!!! I was immediately drawn into the lives of these characters which is so different from my East Coast experiences. Wonderful story about being who you are.”

Buttonwood Books and Toys image Kristine, Buttonwood Books and Toys
Audiobook details

Neverforgotten

By Alejandra Algorta
Narrated by: Andres Macias Hernandez & Christopher Salazar
Length: TBA

Fabio flies through the streets of Bogotá on his bicycle, the children of his neighborhood trailing behind him. It is there that life feels right—where the world of adults, and their lies, fades away. But then one day, he simply forgets. Forgets how to ride his bicycle. And Fabio will never be the same again. From Colombia comes a special... Read more »

Audiobook details

Playing the Cards You're Dealt

By Varian Johnson
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 6 hours 6 minutes

SECRETS ARE ALWAYS A GAMBLE Ten-year-old Anthony Joplin has made it to double digits! Which means he's finally old enough to play in the spades tournament every Joplin Man before him seems to have won. So while Ant's friends are stressing about fifth grade homework and girls, Ant only has one thing on his mind: how he'll measure up to his... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Troubled Girls of Dragomir Academy

By Anne Ursu
Narrated by: Elise Arsenault
Length: 9 hours 47 minutes

From the acclaimed author of The Real Boy and The Lost Girl comes a wondrous and provocative fantasy about a kingdom beset by monsters, a mysterious school, and a girl caught in between them.

If no one notices Marya Lupu, is likely because of her brother, Luka. And that’s because of what everyone knows: that Luka is destined to become a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

All of Us Villains

All of Us Villains

By Amanda Foody & Christine Lynn Herman
Narrated by: Billie Fulford-Brown & Raphael Corkhill
Length: 12 hours 50 minutes

The blockbuster co-writing debut of Amanda Foody and Christine Lynn Herman, All of Us Villains begins a dark tale of ambition and magick...

You Fell In Love With The Victors of The Hunger Games.
Now Prepare To Meet The Villains of The Blood Veil.


The Blood Moon rises. The Blood Veil falls.
The Tournament begins.

Every generation, at the coming of the...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Aristotle and Dante Dive into the Waters of the World

Aristotle and Dante

By Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Narrated by: Lin-Manuel Miranda
Length: 10 hours 1 minutes

The highly anticipated sequel to the critically acclaimed, multiple award-winning novel Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe is an achingly romantic, tender tale sure to captivate fans of Adam Silvera and Mary H.K. Choi.

In Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, two boys in a border town fell in love. Now,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Birds in the Sky

The Story and Legacy of the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre

By Brandy Colbert
Narrated by: Brandy Colbert & Kristyl Dawn Tift
Length: 5 hours 25 minutes

A searing new work of nonfiction from award-winning author Brandy Colbert about the history and legacy of one of the most deadly and destructive acts of racial violence in American history: the Tulsa Race Massacre.

In the early morning of June 1, 1921, a white mob marched across the train tracks in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and into its predominantly...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The City Beautiful

By Aden Polydoros
Narrated by: Maxwell Glick
Length: 12 hours 45 minutes

Would you sacrifice your soul to stop a killer? Chicago, 1893. For Alter Rosen, this is the land of opportunity. Despite the unbearable summer heat, his threadbare clothes, and his constantly empty stomach, Alter still dreams of the day he’ll have enough money to bring his mother and sisters to America, freeing them from the oppression they... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Keeper of Night

The Keeper of Night: Book #1

By Kylie Lee Baker
Narrated by: Rebecca Yeo
Length: 12 hours 22 minutes

A half Reaper, half Shinigami soul collector seeks her destiny in this haunting and compulsively listenable dark fantasy set in 1890s Japan. Read more »

Audiobook details

Little Thieves

By Margaret Owen
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 13 hours 59 minutes

A scrappy maid must outsmart both palace nobles and Low Gods in a new YA fantasy by Margaret Owen, author of the Merciful Crow series.

The little thief steals gold, but the great one steals kingdoms;
And only one goes to the gallows…

Vanja Schmidt knows no gift is freely given, not even a mother’s love. Abandoned to Death and Fortune as a child,...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Skin of the Sea

Skin of the Sea: Book #1

By Natasha Bowen
Narrated by: Yetide Badaki
Length: TBA

An unforgettable fantasy debut inspired by West African mythology, this is Children of Blood and Bone meets The Little Mermaid, in which a mermaid takes on the gods themselves.

A way to survive.
A way to serve.
A way to save.

Simi prayed to the gods, once. Now she serves them as Mami Wata—a mermaid—collecting the souls of those who die at sea and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Within These Wicked Walls

A Novel

By Lauren Blackwood
Narrated by: Nneka Okoye
Length: 8 hours 53 minutes

"An intricate magic system, a grimly humorous Black heroine, AND a heart-thumping romance? This book leaves nothing wanting." Jordan Ifueko, New York Times bestselling author of Raybearer

Andromeda is a debtera—an exorcist hired to cleanse households of the Evil Eye. She would be hired, that is, if her mentor hadn’t thrown her out before she...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference