Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more

Kids’ Next

The Kids' Next list is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorites for kids ranging from 4-year-olds to teens. The audiobook titles below have recently appeared on this list.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: teens audience: tweens topic: indie next topic: kids next

View all playlists

The Project

A Novel

By Courtney Summers
Narrated by: Emily Shaffer & Therese Plummer
Length: 9 hours 52 minutes

From Courtney Summers, the New York Times bestselling author of the 2019 Edgar Award Winner and breakout hit Sadie, comes her electrifying follow-up—a suspenseful, pulls-no-punches story about an aspiring young journalist determined to save her sister no matter the cost.

Lo Denham is used to being on her own. After her parents died in a tragic... Read more »

Audiobook details

Firekeeper's Daughter

By Angeline Boulley
Narrated by: Isabella Star LaBlanc
Length: 14 hours 13 minutes

If you enjoyed There There, then you’ll love Firekeeper's Daughter.

Firekeeper's Daughter is a wonder! We so rarely hear YA through an Indigenous people's voice and this book does it so very well. Main character Daunis Lorenzo Fontaine lives a fine line between her white French Canadian mother and her Ojibwe father in a complicated family dynamic. She is smart, hockey talented, driven, and tenacious as she navigates the murder of her best friend Lily, rampant drug culture, and the journey to find herself. Angeline Boulley seamlessly incorporates the Ojbiwe language and lifeways that both inform and educate the reader in this amazing story that will stay with me long after I have moved onto other books. A MUST-read (or listen)!”

Rediscovered Books image Rebecca, Rediscovered Books
Audiobook details

Starfish

By Lisa Fipps
Narrated by: Jenna Lamia
Length: 3 hours 27 minutes

Ellie is tired of being fat-shamed and does something about it in this poignant debut novel-in-verse.

Ever since Ellie wore a whale swimsuit and made a big splash at her fifth birthday party, she's been bullied about her weight. To cope, she tries to live by the Fat Girl Rules--like "no making waves," "avoid eating in public," and "don't move so... Read more »

Audiobook details

As Far As You'll Take Me

By Phil Stamper
Narrated by: Michael Crouch & Phil Stamper
Length: 8 hours 37 minutes

"A beautiful tribute to every queer kid who's ever had to leave their home in order to find one." - Leah Johnson, bestselling author of You Should See Me in a Crown

The author of The Gravity of Us crafts another heartfelt coming-of-age story about finding the people who become your home--perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli.


Marty arrives in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Kate in Waiting

By Becky Albertalli
Narrated by: Bebe Wood
Length: 9 hours 9 minutes

From #1 New York Times bestselling author and rom-com queen Becky Albertalli comes a buoyant new novel about daring to step out of the shadows and into the spotlight in love, life, and, yes, theater.

Contrary to popular belief, best friends Kate Garfield and Anderson Walker are not codependent. Carpooling to and from theater rehearsals?... Read more »

Audiobook details

Red, White, and Whole

By Rajani LaRocca
Narrated by: Priya Ayyar
Length: 2 hours 38 minutes

A heartbreakingly hopeful #ownvoices novel in verse about an Indian American girl whose life is turned upside down when her mother is diagnosed with leukemia.

Reha feels torn between two worlds: school, where she’s the only Indian American student, and home, with her family’s traditions and holidays. But Reha’s parents don’t understand why she’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

Down Comes the Night

A Novel

By Allison Saft
Narrated by: Saskia Maarleveld
Length: 12 hours 47 minutes

"A YA fantasy classic in the making." - Christine Lynn Herman, author of The Devouring Gray

"Fans of Leigh Bardugo’s “Grisha Trilogy” and Marie Rutkoski’s “Winner’s Trilogy” have been waiting for this Darkling-esque romance." - School Library Journal (Starred Review)

He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the magic in his darkness.


Wren... Read more »

Audiobook details

Lycanthropy and Other Chronic Illnesses

By Kristen O'Neal
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: TBA

Teen Wolf meets Emergency Contact in this sharply observed, hilarious, and heartwarming debut young adult novel about friendship and the hairy side of chronic illness. Priya worked hard to pursue her premed dreams at Stanford, but a diagnosis of chronic Lyme disease during her sophomore year sends her back to her loving but overbearing family... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

The Mysterious Disappearance of Aidan S. (as told to his brother)

By David Levithan
Narrated by: Everette Plen
Length: 3 hours 54 minutes

New York Times bestselling author David Levithan takes young readers on twisting journey through truth, reality, and fantasy and belief.

Aidan disappeared for six days. Six agonizing days of searches and police and questions and constant vigils. Then, just as suddenly as he vanished, Aidan reappears. Where has he been? The story he tells is... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ground Zero

By Alan Gratz
Narrated by: Bernardo de Paula;Ariana Delawari
Length: 7 hours 25 minutes

September 11, 2001, New York City: Brandon is visiting his dad at work, on the 107th floor of the World Trade Center. Out of
nowhere, an airplane slams into the tower, creating a fiery nightmare of terror and confusion. And Brandon is in the middle of it all.
Can he survive -- and escape?
September 11, 2020, Afghanistan: Reshmina has grown up in... Read more »

Audiobook details

Love in English

By Maria E. Andreu
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 6 hours 18 minutes

A fresh, breakout YA novel that is layered with themes of immigration, cultural identity, and finding your voice in any language. 

Sixteen-year-old Ana is a poet and a lover of language. Except that since she moved to New Jersey from Argentina, she can barely find the words to express how she feels.

At first Ana just wants to return home. Then she... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ancestor Approved: Intertribal Stories for Kids

By Cynthia Leitich Smith
Narrated by: Kenny Ramos & DeLanna Studi
Length: 6 hours 11 minutes

Edited by award-winning and bestselling author Cynthia Leitich Smith, this collection of intersecting stories by both new and veteran Native writers bursts with hope, joy, resilience, the strength of community, and Native pride.

Native families from Nations across the continent gather at the Dance for Mother Earth Powwow in Ann Arbor, Michigan.

Read more »>...
Audiobook details

Houdini and Me

By Dan Gutman
Narrated by: Mark Sanderlin
Length: 3 hours 18 minutes

Eleven-year-old Harry Mancini is not Harry Houdini, the famous escape artist who died in 1926. But Harry does live in Houdini’s old New York City home, and he definitely knows everything there is to know about Houdini’s life. What is he supposed to do, then, when someone starts texting him claiming that they’re Houdini, communicating from beyond... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Electric Kingdom

By David Arnold
Narrated by: Thérèse Plummer
Length: 10 hours 37 minutes

New York Times bestseller David Arnold's most ambitious novel to date; Station Eleven meets The 5th Wave in a genre-smashing story of survival, hope, and love amid a ravaged earth.

When a deadly Fly Flu sweeps the globe, it leaves a shell of the world that once was. Among the survivors are eighteen-year-old Nico and her dog, on a voyage devised... Read more »

Audiobook details

Game Changer

By Neal Shusterman
Narrated by: Andrew Eiden & Jennifer Jill Araya
Length: 10 hours 3 minutes

An explosive new novel by the author of the National Book Award-winning Challenger Deep and the New York Times bestselling Arc of a Scythe series, about the limited ways we see our world—and how a jolt out of the ordinary can upend the universe.

All it takes is one hit on the football field, and suddenly Ash’s life doesn’t look quite the way he... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Gilded Ones

The Gilded Ones: Book #1

By Namina Forna
Narrated by: Shayna Small
Length: 12 hours 46 minutes

THE INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTELLER! 

“Namina Forna Could Be The Toni Morrison Of YA Fantasy.” –Refinery 29 

“Fans of Children of Blood and Bone, Mulan, and the Dora Milaje from Black Panther are going to adore this one.” BuzzFeed

"A dark feminist tale spun with blood and gold. Must read!" Dhonielle Clayton, New York Times bestselling author...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Deepest Breath

By Meg Grehan
Narrated by: Heather O'Neill
Length: 1 hours 59 minutes

Eleven-year-old Stevie is an avid reader and knows a lot of things about a lot of things. She knows how to send Morse code through her bedroom wall to her mom. She knows the names of the constellations. And she knows that an octopus has three hearts and nine brains. Knowing things makes her feel safe, powerful, and in control should anything bad... Read more »

Audiobook details

Amelia Unabridged

A Novel

By Ashley Schumacher
Narrated by: Lesa Wilson
Length: 7 hours 45 minutes

Sparks fly between two teens as they grapple with grief, love, and the future in this unforgettable debut novel sure to entice fans of Jandy Nelson and Jennifer E. Smith

Eighteen-year-old Amelia Griffin is obsessed with the famous Orman Chronicles, written by the young and reclusive prodigy N. E. Endsley. They’re the books that brought her and... Read more »

Audiobook details

Charlie Thorne and the Lost City

Charlie Thorne

By Stuart Gibbs
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 7 hours 53 minutes

In this sequel to the New York Times bestselling Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation—which #1 New York Times bestselling author Chris Grabenstein called “a real page-burner”—Charlie searches for Charles Darwin’s hidden treasure in South America.

Charlie Thorne is a genius.
Charlie Thorne is a fugitive.
Charlie Thorne isn’t even thirteen.

After... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Memory Thief

Thirteen Witches

By Jodi Lynn Anderson
Narrated by: Carlotta Brentan
Length: 7 hours 9 minutes

“This expertly crafted story thrums with magic, love, and tense action.” —Booklist (starred review)

Perfect for fans of The Girl Who Drank the Moon, this fantastical and heartfelt first book in a new trilogy from New York Times bestselling author Jodi Lynn Anderson follows a girl who must defeat thirteen evil witches.

Twelve-year-old Rosie Oaks’s... Read more »

Audiobook details

Get a free audiobook on Independent Bookstore Day! Learn more