Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Kids’ Next

The Kids' Next list is drawn from bookseller-recommended favorites for kids ranging from 4-year-olds to teens. The audiobook titles below have recently appeared on this list.

Playlist Tags: genre: Children's audience: kids audience: middle grade audience: teens audience: tweens topic: indie next topic: kids next

View all playlists

The Box in the Woods

By Maureen Johnson
Narrated by: Kate Rudd
Length: 9 hours 12 minutes

After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell investigates her first mystery outside of Ellingham Academy in this spine-chilling and hilarious stand-alone mystery from New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson.

Amateur sleuth Stevie Bell needs a good murder. After catching a killer at her high school, she’s back at home for a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Passing Playbook

By Isaac Fitzsimons
Narrated by: Jamie K. Brown
Length: 7 hours

Love, Simon meets Bend It Like Beckham in this feel-good contemporary romance about a trans athlete who must decide between fighting for his right to play and staying stealth.

“A sharply observant and vividly drawn debut. I loved every minute I spent in this story, and I’ve never rooted harder for a jock in my life.” – New York Times bestselling... Read more »

Audiobook details

Rise to the Sun

By Leah Johnson
Narrated by: Lexi Underwood & Alaska Jackson
Length: 7 hours 33 minutes

Rise to the Sun

“Leah Johnson is officially an auto-buy for me. I honest to goodness could not stop marking this book, nor did I realize just how much I needed it. From the off, Toni and Olivia's journeys were some sort of catharsis, healing my soul even after only two chapters. By the end, my eyes were run over and my cheeks were salty. This one's for the musicians. This one's for everyone who's been missing the way live music grabs you and won't let go. This one's for the lonely-hearted and those who've been told they're too big. And believe me when I say, you're going to want to shed tears while listening too.”

Second Star to the Right image Britt, Second Star to the Right
Audiobook details

The River Has Teeth

By Erica Waters
Narrated by: Katherine Littrell & Sura Siu
Length: 11 hours 4 minutes

Lush and chilling, with razor-sharp edges and an iron core of hope, this bewitching, powerhouse novel of two girls fighting back against the violence the world visits on them will stun and enchant readers.

Girls have been going missing in the woods…

When Natasha’s sister disappears, Natasha desperately turns to Della, a local girl rumored to be a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Sea Is Salt and So Am I

By Cassandra Hartt
Narrated by: Lori Gardner, Nick Mills & Tom Picasso
Length: 12 hours 27 minutes

West Finch is one hurricane away from falling into the sea. Yet sixteen-year-old Harlow Prout is determined to save her small Maine hometown. If only she could stop getting in her own way and find someone—anyone—willing to help. But her best friend, Ellis MacQueen, “fixes” problems by running away from them—including his broken relationship... Read more »

Audiobook details

Six Crimson Cranes

Six Crimson Cranes: Book #1

By Elizabeth Lim
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller
Length: 12 hours 53 minutes

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • A princess in exile, a shapeshifting dragon, six enchanted cranes, and an unspeakable curse... Drawing from fairy tales and East Asian folklore, this original fantasy from the author of Spin the Dawn is perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

"A dazzling fairytale full of breathtaking storytelling." --Stephanie Garber,... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Can't Keep Meeting Like This

By Rachel Lynn Solomon
Narrated by: Carly Robins
Length: 9 hours 25 minutes

A wedding harpist disillusioned with love and a hopeless romantic cater-waiter flirt and fight their way through a summer of weddings in this effervescent romantic comedy from the acclaimed author of Today Tonight Tomorrow.

Quinn Berkowitz and Tarek Mansour’s families have been in business together for years: Quinn’s parents are wedding planners,... Read more »

Audiobook details

Kiki Kallira Breaks a Kingdom

Kiki Kallira: Book #1

By Sangu Mandanna
Narrated by: Zenia Starr
Length: 7 hours 4 minutes

For fans of the Aru Shah and Serpent's Secret series, this action-packed fantasy-adventure sees a girl's drawings of Indian mythology spring to vivid life--including the evil god who seeks to enter the real world and destroy it.

Kiki Kallira has always been a worrier. Did she lock the front door? Is there a terrible reason her mom is late?... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Last Super Chef

By Chris Negron
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: 9 hours 42 minutes

Family and food take center stage in this heartfelt middle grade story perfect for fans of John David Anderson and Antony John.

For as long as he can remember, Curtis Pith has been obsessed with becoming a chef like Lucas Taylor, host of Super Chef. And Curtis has a secret: Taylor is actually his long-absent father.

So when Taylor announces a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Temple Alley Summer

By Sachiko Kashiwaba
Narrated by: Traci Kato-Kiriyama
Length: 5 hours 49 minutes

From renowned Japanese children’s author Sachiko Kashiwaba, Temple Alley Summer is a fantastical and mysterious adventure filled with the living dead, a magical pearl, and a suspiciously nosy black cat named Kiriko featuring beautiful illustrations from Miho Satake.

Kazu knows something odd is going on when he sees a girl in a white kimono sneak...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Tokyo Ever After

A Novel
Tokyo Ever After: Book #1

By Emiko Jean
Narrated by: Ali Ahn
Length: 9 hours 33 minutes

"Narrator Ali Ahn gives this young adult rom-com fun doses of personality and sass...Ahn's accents and Japanese pronunciations ring true as she clearly differentiates characters of different ages and nationalities." -- AudioFile Magazine

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB YA PICK!

The Princess Diaries
meets Crazy Rich Asians in Emiko...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Becoming Vanessa

By Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Narrated by: Vanessa Brantley-Newton
Length: 6 minutes

Get ready to go back to school with this inclusive, empathetic story that will help kids new to the classroom transform from timid caterpillars into beautiful butterflies who love exactly who they are!

On Vanessa's first day of school, her parents tell her it will be easy to make friends. Vanessa isn't so sure. She wears her fanciest... Read more »

Audiobook details

Bodies Are Cool

By Tyler Feder
Narrated by: Tyler Feder
Length: 3 minutes

This body positivity book for preschoolers is a joyful listen.

From the way a body jiggles to the scars a body bears, this book is a pure celebration of all the different human bodies that exist in the world. Highlighting the various skin tones, body shapes, and hair types is just the beginning in this truly inclusive audiobook. With its... Read more »

Audiobook details

Both Can Be True

By Jules Machias
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson & Kirby Heyborne
Length: 8 hours 1 minutes

Debut author Jules Machias explores identity, gender fluidity, and the power of friendship and acceptance in this dual-narrative Own Voices story about two kids who join forces to save a dog . . . but wind up saving each other.

Ash is no stranger to feeling like an outcast. For someone who cycles through genders, it’s a daily struggle to feel in...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Da Vinci's Cat

By Catherine Gilbert Murdock
Narrated by: Sam Devereaux & Hope Newhouse
Length: 5 hours 56 minutes

Two unlikely friends—Federico, in sixteenth-century Rome, and Bee, in present-day New Jersey—are linked through an amiable cat, Leonardo Da Vinci’s mysterious wardrobe, and an eerily perfect sketch of Bee. Newbery Honor author Catherine Gilbert Murdock’s Da Vinci’s Cat is a thrilling, time-slip fantasy about rewriting history to save the...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Healer of the Water Monster

By Brian Young
Narrated by: Shaun Taylor-Corbett
Length: 8 hours 59 minutes

Brian Young’s powerful debut novel tells of a seemingly ordinary Navajo boy who must save the life of a Water Monster—and comes to realize he’s a hero at heart.

When Nathan goes to visit his grandma, Nali, at her mobile summer home on the Navajo reservation, he knows he’s in for a pretty uneventful summer, with no electricity or cell service....

Read more »

Audiobook details

Long Lost

By Jacqueline West
Narrated by: Jesse Vilinsky
Length: 6 hours 26 minutes

Once there were two sisters who did everything together. But only one of them disappeared.

New York Times–bestselling author Jacqueline West’s Long Lost is an atmospheric, eerie mystery brimming with suspense. Fans of Katherine Arden’s Small Spaces and Victoria Schwab’s City of Ghosts series will lose themselves in this mesmerizing and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Ophie’s Ghosts

By Justina Ireland
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 7 hours 59 minutes

Ophie’s Ghosts

“YA powerhouse Justina Ireland (Dread Nation) gives voice to the voiceless dead in this middle grade novel. When a posse of white men come to set their house alight in the night, Ophie’s father tells her to take her mother and flee. The next morning brings impossible news: Ophie’s father had already been killed, and the warning came from her first ghost. When she and her mother move to Pittsburgh, theoretically more welcoming to Black people, they end up working in an old manor house full of restless dead. Can Ophie use her newfound gift to bring them justice? ”

Powell's Books image Madeline, Powell's Books
Audiobook details

The Shape of Thunder

By Jasmine Warga
Narrated by: Reena Dutt & Jennifer Jill Araya
Length: 7 hours 9 minutes

An extraordinary new novel from Jasmine Warga, Newbery Honor–winning author of Other Words for Home, about loss and healing—and how friendship can be magical.

Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a year.

Despite living next door to each other, they exist in separate worlds of grief. Cora is still grappling with the death of her...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Ace of Spades

By Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Narrated by: Tapiwa Mugweni & Jeanette Illidge
Length: 13 hours 48 minutes

This program includes an author's note read by the author.

Gossip Girl meets Get Out in Ace of Spades, a YA contemporary thriller by debut author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé about two students, Devon & Chiamaka, and their struggles against an anonymous bully.

All you need to know is . . . I’m here to divide and conquer. Like all great tyrants do....

Read more »

Audiobook details