Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop small. Gift big. Support local bookstores by giving audiobook gifts. Start shopping

Midwest Connections Picks

Midwest Connections are titles selected by regional booksellers as having particular interest or relevance to the Upper Midwest.

View all playlists

Strange Birds

A Field Guide to Ruffling Feathers
By Celia C. Pérez
Narrated by Rebecca Soler /  7 hours 31 minutes

From the award-winning author of The First Rule of Punk comes the story of four kids who form an alternative Scout troop that shakes up their sleepy Florida town.

"Writing with wry restraint that's reminiscent of Kate DiCamillo... a beautiful tale." --Kirkus Reviews (starred review!)

When three very different girls find a mysterious invitation to... Read more »

Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Reckless Oath We Made

By Bryn Greenwood
Narrated by Alex McKenna, Kirby Heyborne, Adenrele Ojo, MacLeod Andrews, Mark Bramhall, Maxwell Glick, Georgette Perna, Amanda Carlin & Kaleo Griffith /  14 hours 42 minutes

The Reckless Oath We Made

“Greenwood brings these characters -- from Zee with her hard-luck life and equally rough family to autistic Gentry and his quest to be a K-night -- to life with her words, but it was the full cast audio that make them real for me. Each narrator -- one for each character that had a chapter -- brought something new and unique to the character's voice, and that just added depth the whole story. Highly recommended, but especially on audio!”

Watermark Books image Melissa, Watermark Books
Price:

$31.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A River of Royal Blood

By Amanda Joy
Narrated by Soneela Nankani /  10 hours 40 minutes

An enthralling debut perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone set in an ancient North African-inspired fantasy world where two sisters must fight to the death to win the crown.

Sixteen-year-old Eva is a princess, born with the magick of blood and marrow--a dark and terrible magick that hasn't been seen for generations in the vibrant but... Read more »

Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Gift audiobook memberships

Shop local bookstores and gift audiobook memberships! You pick the membership (1, 3, 6, or 12 months/credits), your gift recipient picks their own audiobooks, and local bookstores are supported by your purchase.

Start shopping
Libro.fm App

We Speak in Storms

By Natalie Lund
Narrated by Brittany Pressley & Kirby Heyborne /  10 hours 33 minutes

A powerful and haunting debut novel about friendship, acceptance, and learning to let go as the balance between the living and the dead is upended, perfect for fans of We Were Liars.

It's been more than 50 years since a tornado tore through a drive-in movie theater in tiny Mercer, Illinois, leaving dozens of teens -- a whole generation of... Read more »

Price:

$38.50 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Topeka School

A Novel
By Ben Lerner
Narrated by Nancy Linari, Peter Berkrot & Tristan Wright /  10 hours 34 minutes

The Topeka School

“If you've read Lerner's cultishly celebrated first two novels, Leaving the Atocha Station and 10:04, you'll find both familiar and unfamiliar things in his third one. Familiar is the character Adam Gordon, who shares a name with the impishly semiautobiographical hero of Atocha Station and many characteristics with 10:04's unnamed writer narrator too. But The Topeka School is a different beast, expanding into a more traditional form by including Adam's parents, two New York psychologists transplanted into red-state Kansas, as narrators too. And while there are fascinating aspects of Adam's story as a high school debating champ wrestling with teenage prairie masculinity, it's with his parents, full of the knowledge and lingo of psychiatric analysis but still unable to escape the flawed dramas of human relations, that this speech-drunk (and speech-skeptical) story really takes flight.”

Phinney Books image Tom Nissley, Phinney Books
Price:

$31.04 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

After The Flood

By Kassandra Montag
Narrated by Hillary Huber /  12 hours 59 minutes

Life is about more than just surviving...

An unforgettable, inventive, and riveting epic saga about a mother, her daughter and their struggle to survive in a post-apocalyptic flooded world, which signals the arrival of an extraordinary new talent.


'An adventure rife with great peril and high emotional stakes, this postapocalyptic novel reads like... Read more »

Price:

$27.59 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Nothing More Dangerous

By Allen Eskens
Narrated by Kevin Stillwell /  10 hours 26 minutes

Missouri native Allen Eskens' "stunning small-town mystery" (New York Times Book Review) is a necessary exploration of family, loyalty, and racial tension in America and "a coming-of-age book to rival some of the best, such as Ordinary Grace" (Library Journal, starred review).

In a small Southern town where loyalty to family and to "your people"... Read more »

Price:

$29.88 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Evergreen Tidings from the Baumgartners

By Anthony & Gretchen Anthony
Narrated by Andi Arndt, Eric Dove & Donna Postel /  10 hours 20 minutes

Best Books of Fall 2018 Selection by PopSugar
“Stunning... An intricately satisfying story about love and understanding that is full of both nostalgia and surprising optimism.” —Kirkus Reviews
“A propulsive and endearing debut.” —J. Ryan Stradal, New York Times bestselling author of Kitchens of the Great Midwest
A formidable matriarch learns the... Read more »

Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

This Tender Land

By William Kent Krueger
Narrated by Scott Brick /  14 hours 19 minutes

This Tender Land

“The work of a master storyteller about the making of a young storyteller, This Tender Land is a coming-of-age novel for the ages. It begins in an isolated Dickensian boarding school in Minnesota during the early years of the Depression, then morphs into the story of four runaways in a canoe à la Huckleberry Finn. On the run from their school headmistress and the law, they encounter other wanderers and escapees from life as they canoe towards St. Louis to find their only known relative and a possible home. Odie, his brother Albert, their schoolmate Mose, and newly orphaned Emmy are unforgettable characters in an unforgiving era. Epic, thrilling, and beautifully written, this is storytelling at its very best.”

The Bookstore of Glen Ellyn image Renee Barker, The Bookstore of Glen Ellyn
Price:

$28.74 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Chronicles of a Radical Hag (with Recipes)

A Novel
By Lorna Landvik
Narrated by Lorna Landvik /  9 hours 39 minutes

When Haze Evans first appeared in the small-town newspaper, she earned fans by writing a story about her bachelor uncle who brought a Queen of the Rodeo to Thanksgiving dinner. Now, fifty years later, when the beloved columnist suffers a massive stroke and falls into a coma, publisher Susan McGrath fills the void (temporarily, she hopes) with... Read more »

Price:

$22.99 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Lager Queen of Minnesota

A Novel
By J. Ryan Stradal
Narrated by Judith Ivey /  11 hours 12 minutes

The Lager Queen of Minnesota

“A Minnesota family grounded in farming, beer, and award-winning pies is split for decades when one of two sisters inherits the farm. Helen and Edith — whose stories author J. Ryan Stradal effectively weaves together — stop speaking, while one’s fortunes soar and the other’s plummet. When a woman of the next generation has a chance at success, she may also reunite the Calder family. Stradal brings the heartland to the page with warmth, humor, and plenty of hops-inspired lore.”

Book Passage image Cheryl McKeon, Book Passage
Price:

$28.00 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Twenty-Ninth Day

Surviving a Grizzly Attack in the Canadian Tundra
By Alex Messenger
7 hours 42 minutes

A six-hundred-mile canoe trip in the Canadian wilderness is a seventeen-year-old’s dream adventure, but after he is mauled by a grizzly bear, it’s all about staying alive.

This true-life wilderness survival epic recounts seventeen-year-old Alex Messenger’s near-lethal encounter with a grizzly bear during a canoe trip in the Canadian tundra. The... Read more »

Price:

$15.26 USD

Retail price (USD): $16.95

Discount: 10%

This title is not eligible for purchase with membership credits. Why?

  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Curse of the Werepenguin

Werepenguin: Book #1
By Allan Woodrow
Narrated by Oliver Wyman /  7 hours 41 minutes

"Young Frankenstein meets The Princess Bride in the most hysterically hilarious book I've read in years."--Chris Grabenstein, #1 New York Times bestselling author

All orphan Bolt Wattle has ever wanted was to find his true family. When a mysterious baron in far-off Brugaria sends for Bolt, he wonders if he's getting closer to finding his... Read more »

Price:

$32.20 USD

Get for free with membership
  Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Shop small. Gift big. Support local bookstores by giving audiobook gifts. Start shopping