Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
2021 Newbery Medal and Honor Books

2021 Newbery Medal and Honor Books

The Newbery Medal is awarded annually by the American Library Association for the most distinguished American children's book published the previous year. The Medal Winner for 2021 is When You Trap a Tiger by Tae Keller.

Playlist Tags: audience: kids audience: children awards: newbery

View all playlists

When You Trap a Tiger

(Winner of the 2021 Newbery Medal)

By Tae Keller
Narrated by: Greta Jung
Length: 7 hours 22 minutes

WINNER OF THE NEWBERY MEDAL NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
WINNER OF THE ASIAN/PACIFIC AMERICAN AWARD FOR CHILDREN'S LITERATURE

 
Would you make a deal with a magical tiger? This uplifting story brings Korean folklore to life as a girl goes on a quest to unlock the power of stories and save her grandmother.


Some stories refuse to stay bottled up...

When... Read more »

Audiobook details

Fighting Words

By Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin & Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
Length: 6 hours 30 minutes

*Newbery Honor Book*
*Odyssey Honor Audiobook*
 
A candid and fierce middle grade novel about sisterhood and sexual abuse, by two-time Newbery Honor winner and #1 New York Times best seller Kimberly Brubaker Bradley, author of The War that Saved My Life

Kirkus Prize Finalist
Boston Globe Best Book of the Year
Horn Book Fanfare Best Book of the...
Read more »

Audiobook details

We Dream of Space

By Erin Entrada Kelly
Narrated by: Ramon de Ocampo
Length: 5 hours 55 minutes

Newbery Medalist and New York Times–bestselling author Erin Entrada Kelly transports readers to 1986 and introduces them to the unforgettable Cash, Fitch, and Bird Thomas in this pitch-perfect middle grade novel about family, friendship, science, and exploration. A great choice for readers of Kate DiCamillo, Rita Williams-Garcia, and Rebecca...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app and screens

Shop early and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Box

Henry Brown Mails Himself to Freedom

By Carole Boston Weatherford
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 37 minutes

What have I to fear? My master broke every promise to me. I lost my beloved wife and our dear children. All, sold South. Neither my time nor my body is mine. The breath of life is all I have to lose. And bondage is suffocating me. Henry Brown wrote that long before he came to be known as Box; he “entered the world a slave.” He was put to work as...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Shop early and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference