Skip content
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more
October's Bookseller Picks
All playlists

October's Bookseller Picks

Libro.fm offers recommendations from real people: the dedicated indie booksellers working in our 1,500+ partner bookstores! Below, find the audiobooks that booksellers are loving this month.

Beautiful Country

A Memoir

By: Qian Julie Wang
Narrated by: Qian Julie Wang
Length: 9 hours 38 minutes

“In this brutally honest coming-of-age memoir, Qian Julie Wang comes to terms with the deprivations and struggles of her undocumented Chinese upbringing in New York City in the 1990s. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Love Hypothesis

By: Ali Hazelwood
Narrated by: Callie Dalton & Teddy Hamilton
Length: 11 hours 51 minutes

“From the start of the book you're introduced to characters who are unapologetically themselves which is refreshing and wonderful to hear! You have some serious moments sprinkled into a wonderfully trope-filled book that makes you giggle and blush as you listen to the cutest rom-com out there. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe

By: Raquel Vasquez Gilliland
Narrated by: Kyla Garcia
Length: 11 hours 51 minutes

“This was just so darned delightful. I loved Moon, and her sharp retorts (she comes up with the best insults!), as well as her determination to succeed at her goals even though she constantly doubts herself. She and her twin sister, Star, are opposites in all ways. Star is the beautiful one, and Moon is not. Star is loved, and Moon is not. Star... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Gold medal with Libro.fm logo

Limited-time offer

Get two free audiobooks!

Now’s a great time to shop indie. When you start a new membership supporting local bookstores with promo code PRIMETIME, we’ll give you two bonus audiobook credits at sign-up.

Sign up today

Iron Widow (Book 1)

Iron Widow: Book #1

By: Xiran Jay Zhao
Narrated by: Rong Fu
Length: 12 hours 13 minutes

Iron Widow is addictive, non-stop, and insane! I LOVE this book so much! Take control of your life. Take control of your body. Make the patriarchy pay through blood and vengeance! This alt-reality world mixes Chinese culture and Pacific Rim, with addictive action, complex characters, and an unstoppable fury. Zetian wants revenge and will bring... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Moon, the Stars, and Madame Burova

A Novel

By: Ruth Hogan
Narrated by: Nina Wadia
Length: 7 hours 54 minutes

“A charming, uplifting story with bittersweet and interesting characters. Just a gem to relax and enjoy! A fantastic audiobook Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Blackout

A Novel

By: Dhonielle Clayton, Tiffany D. Jackson, Nic Stone, Angie Thomas, Ashley Woodfolk & Nicola Yoon
Narrated by: Joniece Abbott-Pratt, Dion Graham, Imani Parks, Jordan Cobb, Shayna Small, A.J Beckles & Bahni Turpin
Length: 6 hours 55 minutes

“From six of the most incredible YA writers in the game comes a unique set of intertwining stories that exemplify the beauty of young black love. A heatwave has caused a major blackout in New York City and six unlikely couples find themselves stuck together in different parts of the city. With six distinctive voices, they all managed to... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Olga

A Novel

By: Bernhard Schlink
Narrated by: Nathalie Buscombe
Length: 5 hours 51 minutes

“Translated from German, this was a most excellent tale of Olga. It read like a memoir. I enjoyed the varied narrators, each with a different view of her simple, yet profound life. This felt like sitting down with my grandmother's journals and rediscovering she lived a thousand lives aside from the one I knew like the back of my own hand. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Fault Lines

A Novel

By: Emily Itami
Narrated by: Lydia Wilson
Length: 5 hours 22 minutes

“Emily Itami has given us an incredibly engaging, hilarious, and relatable narrator in Mizuki as she navigates the fault lines in her marriage, in her past, and within herself. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

A Little Devil in America

Notes in Praise of Black Performance

By: Hanif Abdurraqib
Narrated by: JD Jackson
Length: 9 hours 38 minutes

“I loved Hanif Abdurraqib’s A Little Devil in America. This essential book explores a handful of Black performers—some world-famous, others everyday people—across a wide variety of disciplines, seamlessly woven into snippets and stories from Hanif’s own life about Black culture and the performance of Blackness. JD Jackson’s low and easy narration... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Last Graduate

A Novel

The Scholomance: Book #2

By: Naomi Novik
Narrated by: Anisha Dadia
Length: 13 hours 26 minutes

“The final year of Galadriel's run at the Scholomance is quite the doozy. The last thing you'd think would arrive at the end would be hope, but that's the strongest feeling imbued into this book. Against the odds and running against the clock you'll find yourself anxiously awaiting the finale. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Book of Form and Emptiness

A Novel

By: Ruth Ozeki
Narrated by: Kerry Shale & Ruth Ozeki
Length: 18 hours 50 minutes

“Im still rereading sentences pondering and listening to the voices. I've never even remotely read anything like this before....Hats off to Ruth Ozeki! Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Harlem Shuffle

A Novel

By: Colson Whitehead
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 10 hours 35 minutes

“A love letter to 1960s Harlem that’s also a heist novel, a family saga, and so much more. Colson Whitehead proves once again that he’s always at the top of his game! Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Under the Whispering Door

By: TJ Klune
Narrated by: Kirt Graves
Length: 14 hours 54 minutes

“Trigger warning: Suicide and death. TJ Klune has done it again. He has created a story (with some darkness) centered on a character that would otherwise have easily been seen as the villain. And again, he walked me through a funny, LGBTQ+ positive, and horror-esque journey where I grew in empathy for Wallace as he tackled questions about death,... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Razorblade Tears

A Novel

By: S. A. Cosby
Narrated by: Adam Lazarre-White
Length: 12 hours 22 minutes

“I often start books on audio but end up finishing in print. As a bookseller, I have the privilege of easy access to both. Well, I had a physical copy of Razorblade Tears I could have picked up at any point...even tried to once...but I couldn't bring myself to stop listening to the audio. Adam Lazarre-White does an outstanding job narrating this... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Cloud Cuckoo Land

A Novel

By: Anthony Doerr
Narrated by: Marin Ireland & Simon Jones
Length: 14 hours 51 minutes

“A beautiful tribute to the human need to preserve and share stories. One to read and read again! One of my Top 3 for 2021! Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

On Animals

By: Susan Orlean
Narrated by: Susan Orlean
Length: 10 hours

“Sometimes you may just want to think about anything other than human beings. Pick up On Animals by Susan Orlean and you'll find yourself delighting in the fascinating world of donkeys, orca whales, dogs, and pigeons. A lifelong animal lover, Orlean's essays are beautifully written and frankly quite delightful. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Vespertine

By: Margaret Rogerson
Narrated by: Caitlin Davies
Length: 12 hours 6 minutes

An international bestseller!

From the New York Times bestselling author of Sorcery of Thorns and An Enchantment of Ravens comes a thrilling, “dark coming-of-age adventure” (Culturess) about a teen girl with mythic abilities who must defend her world against restless spirits of the dead.

The spirits of the dead do not rest.

Artemisia is training... Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Inheritance of Orquídea Divina

A Novel

By: Zoraida Córdova
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 10 hours 57 minutes

“This multigenerational novel is so beautifully written and full of magical realism. Dreamlike in its imagery and captivating in its storytelling, it is perfect for fans of The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue, by V. E. Schwab and The House of the Spirits, by Isabel Allende. Read more

Audiobook details   Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Are you an audio champion? Join our reading challenge and you could win a year of audiobooks and more! Learn more