Skip navigation
Skip content
Audiobooks by South Asian Authors

Audiobooks by South Asian Authors

These audiobooks by South Asian authors are perfect to dive into to celebrate Holi, or to enjoy all year round.

Playlist Tags: topic: south asian topic: holi

View all playlists

Interpreter of Maladies

By Jhumpa Lahiri
Narrated by: Matilda Novak
Length: 6 hours 15 minutes

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize. Navigating between the Indian traditions they've inherited and the baffling new world, the characters in Jhumpa Lahiri's elegant, touching stories seek love beyond the barriers of cultures and generations.

In A Temporary Matter, published in the New Yorker, a young Indian-American couple faces the heartbreak of a... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The God of Small Things

By Arundhati Roy
Narrated by: Sneha Mathan
Length: 11 hours 44 minutes

The New York Times bestselling and Booker Prize–winning novel about an Indian family in tragic decline that introduced the world to the voice of Arundhati Roy

Likened to the works of Faulkner and Dickens when it was first published twenty years ago, this extraordinarily accomplished debut novel is a brilliantly plotted story of forbidden love and...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows

A Novel

By Balli Kaur Jaswal
Narrated by: Meera Syal
Length: 10 hours 34 minutes

Erotic Stories for Punjabi Widows

“Full of fun and Drama! The women in Erotic Stories for Punjabi Women shake up their community with their racy story writing - and solve a mystery! This book is full of surprises. I loved it. A delight! The narration of the audiobook was well done and greatly added to the story.”

Content image Myrna, Content
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The Subtweet

A Novel

By Vivek Shraya
Narrated by: nisha ahuja
Length: 5 hours 6 minutes

“Biting and beautiful.” — Jonny Sun, author of everyone’s a aliebn when ur a aliebn too

Everyone talks about falling in love, but falling in friendship can be just as captivating. When Neela Devaki’s song is covered by internet-famous artist Rukmini, the two musicians meet and a transformative friendship begins.

But as Rukmini’s star...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

One Part Woman

By Perumal Murugan
Narrated by: Deepa Samuel
Length: 6 hours 19 minutes

Longlisted for the 2018 National Book Award for Translated Literature

Selling over 100,000 copies in India, where it was published first in the original Tamil and then in a celebrated translation by Penguin India, Perumal Murugan’s One Part Woman has become a cult phenomenon in the subcontinent, captivating Indian readers and jump-starting...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Great Derangement

Climate Change and the Unthinkable

By Amitav Ghosh
Narrated by: Shridhar Solanki
Length: 6 hours 7 minutes

Are we deranged? The acclaimed Indian novelist Amitav Ghosh argues that future generations may well think so. How else to explain our imaginative failure in the face of global warming? In his first major book of nonfiction since In an Antique Land, Ghosh examines our inability—at the level of literature, history, and politics—to grasp the scale...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Kamila Knows Best

By Farah Heron
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 10 hours 51 minutes

Jane Austen's Emma goes Bollywoood in this delightful retelling from the highly acclaimed author of Accidentally Engaged, perfect for fans of Abby Jimenez and Jasmine Guillory.

Kamila Hussain’s life might not be perfect, but, whew, it’s close. She lives a life of comfort, filled with her elaborate Bollywood movie parties, a dog with more...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Love, Chai, and Other Four-Letter Words

Chai Masala Club: Book #1

By Annika Sharma
Narrated by: Zehra Jane Naqvi
Length: 10 hours 50 minutes

Kiran Mathur knows firsthand how dangerous love can be. After all, her sister's marriage in India nearly destroyed Kiran's family. So she's decided to redeem romance herself?by not falling for anyone who might disappoint her parents. That is, that was her plan right up until she met her new neighbor, Nash Hawthorne. Nash is a dedicated... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors

A Novel
The Rajes Series

By Sonali Dev
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 15 hours 7 minutes

Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors

“Paying cheeky homage to Jane Austen’s beloved books, the pride and prejudice in this novel come in all flavors for both main characters, as an Indian-American neurosurgeon and a Rwandan-Anglo-Indian chef meet their match together in life and love. While Dr. Trisha Raje and DJ Caine are thrown together by family responsibilities and reluctantly drawn to each other for reasons neither want to identify, the rest of the family members are just as intriguingly introduced, making the happily ever after ending of this book only the beginning of this wonderful new series. The seamless merging of cultures and traditions suffuse the funny dialogue, empathy of the characters, and well-built plot with an evocative richness the reflects the realities of a 21st century life. Incredibly timely and representative of women as both mothers and working at the top of their field professionally, and of physical illness and (dis)ability struggles and triumphs, this book should not be relegated to only the category of women’s fiction, but should be celebrated as an example of where all types of literature should be heading – increasing representation of the myriad ways races, cultures, ethnicities, nationalities, and abilities influence, inform, and clash with family responsibilities, individual identities, and personal choices. ”

River Dog Book Co. image BrocheAroe, River Dog Book Co.
Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Dating Dr. Dil

A Novel

By Nisha Sharma
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani & Vikas Adam
Length: 10 hours 49 minutes

"Nisha Sharma's Dating Dr. Dil is what would happen if you put all my favorite romantic comedy tropes into a blender: a frothy, snarky, hilarious treat with a gooey, heartwarming center. The perfect addition to any rom-com lover's shelf." —Emily Henry, #1 New York Times bestselling author of People We Meet on Vacation

Nisha Sharma’s new romantic...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

The Singles Table

By Sara Desai
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 10 hours 44 minutes

Opposites attract in this laugh-out-loud romantic comedy about a free-spirited lawyer who is determined to find the perfect match for the grumpy bachelor at her cousin's wedding.
 
After a devastating break-up, celebrity-obsessed lawyer Zara Patel is determined never to open her heart again. She puts her energy into building her career... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Ghachar Ghochar

By Vivek Shanbhag
Narrated by: Neil Shah
Length: 2 hours 41 minutes

A young man’s close-knit family is nearly destitute when his uncle founds a successful spice company, changing their fortunes overnight. As they move from a cramped, ant-infested shack to a larger house on the other side of Bangalore, and try to adjust to a new way of life, the family dynamic begins to shift. Allegiances realign; marriages are...

Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account

Kaikeyi

A Novel

By Vaishnavi Patel
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 17 hours 22 minutes

"Patel’s mesmerizing debut shines a brilliant light on the vilified queen from [the Indian epic] the Ramayana....This easily earns its place on shelves alongside Madeline Miller’s Circe." Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“I was born on the full moon under an auspicious constellation, the holiest of positions—much good it did me.”

So begins... Read more »

Audiobook details Add to Wish List

Almost ready!

In order to save audiobooks to your Wish List you must be signed in to your account.

      Log in       Create account