Skip navigation
Skip content
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more
Bookseller Created
This List is Anti-Racist

This List is Anti-Racist

We need to stop this.

Playlist Tags: Brain Lair Books morethanthis topic: antiracism topic: diversity

View all playlists

Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History

Vashti Harrison

By Vashti Harrison
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 1 hours 38 minutes

This beautifully illustrated board book edition of instant bestseller Little Leaders: Bold Women in Black History showcases women who changed the world and is the perfect goodnight book to inspire big dreams.

Featuring 18 trailblazing black women in American history, Dream Big, Little One is the irresistible board book adaptation of Little... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Only Black Girls in Town

By Brandy Colbert
Narrated by: Jeanette Illidge
Length: 7 hours 28 minutes

From award-winning YA author Brandy Colbert comes a debut middle-grade novel about the only two Black girls in town who discover a collection of hidden journals revealing shocking secrets of the past.

Beach-loving surfer Alberta has been the only Black girl in town for years. Alberta's best friend, Laramie, is the closest thing she has to a... Read more »

Audiobook details

Piecing Me Together

By Renee Watson
Narrated by: Renee Watson
Length: 5 hours 37 minutes

A timely and powerful story about a teen girl from a poor neighborhood striving for success, from acclaimed author Renee Watson. Jade believes she must get out of her neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother says she has to take every opportunity. She has. She accepted a scholarship to a mostly-white private school and even... Read more »

Audiobook details
Collage of covers
Thanks for giving with Libro.fm Thanks for giving with Libro.fm

When you spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore from November 24th through November 30th, you can get one of these bestselling audiobooks for free from Libro.fm.

Learn more

New Kid

By Jerry Craft
Narrated by: Jesus Del Orden, Nile Bullock, Robin Miles, Guy Lockard, Peyton Lusk, Rebecca Soler, Dan Bittner, Phoebe Strole, Marc Thompson, Miles Harvey & Ron Butler
Length: 1 hours 58 minutes

2020 Audie Awards® Finalist—Middle Grade

Winner of the Newbery Medal, Coretta Scott King Author Award, and Kirkus Prize for Young Readers’ Literature, and an Audie Award finalist!

An original full-cast audio adaptation of the graphic novel from award-winning author-illustrator Jerry Craft, performed by the author with Jesus Del Orden, Nile...

Read more »

Audiobook details

What Lane?

By Torrey Maldonado
Narrated by: Torrey Maldonado
Length: 2 hours 35 minutes

"If you are wondering how to begin confronting Anti-Black racism in your classroom, start with What Lane?"--School Library Journal: The Classroom Bookshelf

"STAY IN YOUR LANE." Stephen doesn't want to hear that--he wants to have no lane.

Anything his friends can do, Stephen should be able to do too, right? So when they dare each other to sneak... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Crossover

Crossover: Book #1

By Kwame Alexander
Narrated by: Corey Allen
Length: 2 hours 16 minutes

Fourteen-year-old twin basketball stars Josh and Jordan wrestle with highs and lows on and off the court as their father ignores his declining health. Review Quotes: "This novel in verse is rich in character and relationships. . . . Poet Alexander deftly reveals the power of the format to pack an emotional punch." --"Kirkus, " starred review... Read more »

Audiobook details

A Good Kind of Trouble

By Lisa Moore Ramée
Narrated by: Imani Parks
Length: 6 hours 45 minutes

From debut author Lisa Moore Ramée comes this funny and big-hearted debut middle grade novel about friendship, family, and standing up for what’s right, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and the novels of Renée Watson and Jason Reynolds.

Twelve-year-old Shayla is allergic to trouble. All she wants to do is to follow the rules....

Read more »

Audiobook details

Black Brother, Black Brother

By Jewell Parker Rhodes
Narrated by: Barrie Buckner
Length: 4 hours 36 minutes

From award-winning and bestselling author, Jewell Parker Rhodes comes a powerful coming-of-age story about two brothers, one who presents as white, the other as black, and the complex ways in which they are forced to navigate the world, all while training for a fencing competition.
Framed. Bullied. Disliked. But I know I can still be the best.

... Read more »

Audiobook details

We Are Not From Here

By Jenny Tores Sanchez
Narrated by: Marisa Blake
Length: 9 hours 30 minutes

Pulga has his dreams. Chico has his grief. Pequeña has her pride. And these three teens have one another. But none of them have illusions about the town they've grown up in and the dangers that surround them. Even with the love of family, threats lurk around every corner. And when those threats become all too real, the trio knows they have no...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Internment

By Samira Ahmed
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 11 hours 17 minutes

Internment

“An emotionally charged, incredibly well written story of what it would be like if internment camps were brought back for this nation's Muslim citizens. Beautifully narrated, Internment is gripping and powerful, this is a must-listen for all ages.”

Anderson's Bookshop image Mary, Anderson's Bookshop
Audiobook details

If You Come Softly

Twentieth Anniversary Edition

By Jacqueline Woodson
Narrated by: Jorjeana Marie, Guy Lockard & Jacqueline Woodson
Length: 3 hours 42 minutes

If You Come Softly

“Told in two voices, this is a teen love story filled with quiet innocence, careful wording, and strong questions. When a young Black boy and Jewish girl meet at school, emotions blossom and these star-crossed lovers will show the world that more comes from love than hate. This beautiful cover matches the narration in tone, timeless.”

Once Upon A Time image Jessica, Once Upon A Time
Audiobook details

When I Was the Greatest

By Jason Reynolds
Narrated by: JB Adkins
Length: 6 hours 2 minutes

In Bed Stuy, New York, a small misunderstanding can escalate into having a price on your head—even if you’re totally clean. This gritty, triumphant debut captures the heart and the hardship of life for an urban teen.

A lot of the stuff that gives my neighborhood a bad name, I don’t really mess with. The guns and drugs and all that, not really my... Read more »

Audiobook details

Anger Is a Gift

A Novel

By Mark Oshiro
Narrated by: Mark Oshiro
Length: 13 hours 22 minutes

A story of resilience and loss, love and family, Mark Oshiro's Anger is a Gift testifies to the vulnerability and strength of a community living within a system of oppression

Six years ago, Moss Jefferies' father was murdered by an Oakland police officer. Along with losing a parent, the media' s vilification of his father and lack of...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Pet

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by: Christopher Myers
Length: 5 hours 32 minutes

National Book Award Finalist

Stonewall Book Award Winner

"[A] beautiful, genre-expanding debut...Pet is a nesting doll of creative possibilities." (The New York Times)

The award-winning, genre-defying novel by the New York Times best-selling author of The Death of Vivek Oji that explores themes of identity and justice and asks: How do you share the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Love, Hate & Other Filters

By Samira Ahmed
Narrated by: Soneela Nankani
Length: 8 hours 24 minutes

In this unforgettable debut, a Muslim teen copes with Islamophobia, cultural divides among peers and parents, and a reality she can neither explain nor escape. American-born seventeen-year-old Maya Aziz is torn between worlds. There's the proper one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter: attending a college close to their suburban... Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

I'm Not Dying with You Tonight

By Kimberly Jones & Gilly Segal
Narrated by: Channie Waites & Brittany Pressley
Length: 5 hours 19 minutes

I'm Not Dying with You Tonight

“I loved the dual narration and the way these two young women bond during a very traumatic night, and the way their characters really seem to grow. I've read whole series that showed less character development in 20 some odd books! Segal and Jones are the perfect pair, and I can't remember reading a novel written by two authors that flowed and gelled as much as this one - the chemistry between the writers adds to the chemistry of the story. This is a total binge-read or binge-listen (I recommend both)! ”

Fountain Bookstore image Kate, Fountain Bookstore
Audiobook details

The Hate U Give

By Angie Thomas
Narrated by: Bahni Turpin
Length: 11 hours 50 minutes

The Hate U Give

“This bestselling, powerful young adult novel about social justice and one teen girl's effort to fight for what is right, will leave you breathless. The narration by Bahni Turpin is hands down the best I've ever heard. This is such an important book it should be required reading for life in general. Or listening. Definitely listening.”

Tattered Cover image Kristen, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

Dear Martin

By Nic Stone
Narrated by: Dion Graham
Length: 4 hours 32 minutes

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • WILLIAM C. MORRIS AWARD FINALIST • ONE OF TIME MAGAZINE’S 100 BEST YA BOOKS OF ALL TIME
 
After a traffic stop turns violent at the hands of the police, a young Black teen grapples with racism—and what it means for his future. Critically acclaimed author Nic Stone boldly tackles America’s troubled history with race... Read more »

Audiobook details

Monster

By Walter Dean Myers
Narrated by: Full Cast
Length: 2 hours 35 minutes

BONUS FEATURE: Afterword read by the author

Sometimes I feel like I have walked into the middle of a movie. Maybe I can make my own movie. The film will be the story of my life. No, not my life, but of this experience. I’ll call it what the lady who is the prosecutor called me. Monster.

FADE IN: INTERIOR COURT. A guard sits at a desk behind... Read more »

Audiobook details

All American Boys

By Jason Reynolds & Brendan Kiely
Narrated by: Guy Lockard & Keith Nobbs
Length: 6 hours 35 minutes

A 2016 Coretta Scott King Author Honor book, and recipient of the Walter Dean Myers Award for Outstanding Children’s Literature.

In this New York Times bestselling novel, two teens—one black, one white—grapple with the repercussions of a single violent act that leaves their school, their community, and, ultimately, the country bitterly divided... Read more »

Audiobook details
  • 1
Spend $15 or more at an independent bookstore and get a free audiobook! Learn more