Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Audiobooks by Trans Authors

Happy Trans Day of Visibility! International Transgender Day of Visibility is an annual event occurring on March 31 dedicated to celebrating transgender people and raising awareness of discrimination faced by transgender people worldwide, as well as a celebration of their contributions to society.

Playlist Tags: topic: lgbtqa topic: transgender

View all playlists

Sasha Masha

By Agnes Borinsky
Narrated by: Agnes Borinsky
Length: 3 hours 30 minutes

Sasha Masha

Sasha Masha is an #OwnVoices queer coming-of-age story featuring Alex, who might be trans. By the end of the story, he’s not sure of his pronouns, but he knows his name—it’s Sasha Masha. Sasha Masha, who wears dresses and lipstick and dances and feels beautiful. This book—warm and sweet, with a few cringe-worthy high school stumbles that turn out okay—is a glimpse into how Alex lets Sasha Masha come through. It illustrates especially how unconditionally loving and accepting queer people can be of each other. I loved Agnes Borinsky’s natural writing style, which was made even better when read in her voice.”

Raven Book Store image Mary, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Pet

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by: Christopher Myers
Length: 5 hours 32 minutes

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST
STONEWALL BOOK AWARD WINNER

"[A] beautiful, genre-expanding debut. . . . Pet is a nesting doll of creative possibilities." -The New York Times

The award-winning, genre-defying novel by the New York Times bestselling author of THE DEATH OF VIVEK OJI that explores themes of identity and justice and asks: How do you share...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Victories Greater Than Death

Unstoppable: Book #1

By Charlie Jane Anders
Narrated by: Hynden Walch
Length: 12 hours 45 minutes

Buckle up your seatbelt for Victories Greater Than Death, a thrilling YA sci-fi adventure set against an intergalactic war from internationally bestselling author Charlie Jane Anders.

This program includes a bonus interview with the author.

Outsmart Your Enemies. Outrun the Galaxy.

“Just please, remember what I told you. Run. Don’t stop running...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Detransition, Baby

A Novel

By Torrey Peters
Narrated by: Renata Friedman
Length: 12 hours 31 minutes

NATIONAL BESTSELLER • “An unforgettable portrait of three women, trans and cis, who wrestle with questions of motherhood and family making . . . Detransition, Baby might destroy your book club, but in a good way.”—Andrea Lawlor, author of Paul Takes the Form of a Mortal Girl
 
“A tale of love, loss, and self-discovery as singular as it is... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Thirty Names of Night

A Novel

By Zeyn Joukhadar
Narrated by: Samy Figaredo & Lameece Issaq
Length: 9 hours 29 minutes

The Thirty Names of Night

“An affecting, multigenerational coming-of-age story about a young Syrian American artist’s discovery of self and the truth behind his mother’s mysterious passing. Featuring alternating perspectives that weave the past into the present, this novel embodies the epistolary not just in form and address, but in the way it reads like a love letter to New York City, especially the immigrant, working-class, and LGBTQ underground of New York. A book with a heartbeat, despite all its ghosts.”

Books Are Magic image Serena Morales, Books Are Magic
Audiobook details

Cemetery Boys

By Aiden Thomas
Narrated by: Avi Roque
Length: 13 hours 47 minutes

This program includes a bonus conversation with the author.

A trans boy determined to prove his gender to his traditional Latinx family summons a ghost who refuses to leave in Aiden Thomas's paranormal YA debut Cemetery Boys, described by Entertainment Weekly as "groundbreaking
."

Yadriel has summoned a ghost, and now he can't get rid of him.

When... Read more »

Audiobook details

Stay Gold

By Tobly McSmith
Narrated by: Theo Germaine & Phoebe Strole
Length: 9 hours 19 minutes

Debut author Tobly McSmith delivers a coming-of-age teen love story about a transgender boy who’s going stealth at his new Texas high school and a cisgender girl who is drawn to him, even as she’s counting down the days until graduation. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Becky Albertalli, and Jenny Han.

Pony just wants to fly under the radar... Read more »

Audiobook details

Between Perfect and Real

By Ray Stoeve
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson
Length: 7 hours 24 minutes

A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding his voice—and himself. Dean Foster knows he’s a trans guy. He’s watched enough YouTube videos and done enough questioning to be sure. But everyone at his high school thinks he’s a lesbian—including his girlfriend Zoe, and his theater director, who just cast him as a “nontraditional” Romeo. He wonders... Read more »

Audiobook details

Transgender History, second edition

The Roots of Today's Revolution
Seal Studies

By Susan Stryker
Narrated by: Emily Cauldwell
Length: 7 hours 49 minutes

Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events. Chapters cover the transsexual and transvestite communities in the years following World War II; trans... Read more »

Audiobook details

Ana on the Edge

By A. J. Sass
Narrated by: Diane Chen
Length: 7 hours 6 minutes

For fans of George and Ivy Aberdeen's Letter to the World, a heartfelt coming of age story about a nonbinary character navigating a binary world.

Twelve-year-old Ana-Marie Jin, the reigning US Juvenile figure skating champion, is not a frilly dress kind of kid. So, when Ana learns that next season's program will be princess themed, doubt forms... Read more »

Audiobook details

I'm Afraid of Men

By Vivek Shraya
Narrated by: Vivek Shraya
Length: 1 hours 26 minutes

Named a Best Book by: The Globe and Mail, Indigo, Out Magazine, Audible, CBC, Apple, Quill & Quire, Kirkus Reviews, Brooklyn Public Library, Writers’ Trust of Canada, Autostraddle, Bitch, and BookRiot.

Finalist for the 2019 Lambda Literary Award, Transgender Nonfiction
Nominated for the 2019 Forest of Reading Evergreen Award
Winner of the...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Felix Ever After

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Logan Rozos
Length: 8 hours 23 minutes

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.

Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and why it seems so easy... Read more »

Audiobook details

Birthday

A Novel

By Meredith Russo
Narrated by: Dana Aliya Levinson
Length: 7 hours 58 minutes

Birthday

“Loved this YA novel of gender alignment! Two babies "meet" at birth in the hospital and grow up as close friends with a special bond. One of them is a "typical" male; the other realizes with more and more clarity that, though born male, she is female. Predictably, she has lots of difficulties and traumas as she matures -- the "normal" growing pains plus the increasing conviction that her body just doesn't match her insides. Through the chronicling of the friends' lives (every year, from birthday to birthday, told in their alternating voices) runs the constant thread of the soulmates' lifelong friendship. Spoiler alert: it turns out well in the end! The extensive conversation at the end between the author and the audiobook narrator [who are both trans women] is worth the price of the audiobook. Open, honest, soul-baring, and replete with valuable support and resources, the interview itself could be a life-changing resource for someone with gender questions and confusions.”

Tattered Cover image Cathy, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

I Wish You All the Best (Digital Audio Download Edition)

By Mason Deaver
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson
Length: 8 hours 34 minutes

Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's groundbreaking debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.

"Heartfelt, romantic, and quietly groundbreaking. This book will save lives." -- Becky Albertalli, New York Times bestselling author of Simon vs. the Homo... Read more »
Audiobook details

The Map of Salt and Stars

By Zeyn Joukhadar
Narrated by: Lara Sawalha
Length: 12 hours 17 minutes

The Map of Salt and Stars

“The two intertwining stories--one an ancient folk tale, one a story set in modern day Syria, and both featuring a young girl not yet come of age as the protagonist and hero of her own adventure--is brilliantly performed by Lara Sawalha. I was captivated from the first but both the rich stories and the gorgeous telling of them.”

Left Bank Books image Kris, Left Bank Books
Audiobook details

The Black Tides of Heaven

Tensorate: Book #1

By Neon Yang
Narrated by: Nancy Wu
Length: 5 hours 21 minutes

Mokoya and Akeha, the twin children of the Protector, were sold to the Grand Monastery as infants. While Mokoya developed her strange prophetic gift, Akeha was always the one who could see the strings that moved adults to action. While Mokoya received visions of what would be, Akeha realized what could be. What's more, they saw the sickness at... Read more »

Audiobook details

Freshwater

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by: Akwaeke Emezi
Length: 6 hours 42 minutes

An extraordinary debut novel, Freshwater explores the surreal experience of having a fractured self. It centers around a young Nigerian woman, Ada, who develops separate selves within her as a result of being born "with one foot on the other side." Unsettling, heartwrenching, dark, and powerful, Freshwater is a sharp evocation of a rare way of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Trans Like Me

Conversations for All of Us

By C.N. Lester
Narrated by: CN Lester
Length: 6 hours 4 minutes

In Trans Like Me, CN Lester takes listeners on a measured, thoughtful, intelligent yet approachable tour through the most important and high-profile narratives around the trans community, turning them inside out and examining where we really are in terms of progress. From the impact of the media's wording in covering trans people and issues, to... Read more »

Audiobook details