Skip navigation
Have a gift or promo code? Get started
Skip content

Audiobooks by Transgender Authors

Each year between November 13-19, people and organizations around the country participate in Transgender Awareness Week to help raise the visibility about transgender people and address issues members of the community face.

Playlist Tags: topic: lgbtqa topic: transgender

View all playlists

Birthday

A Novel

By Meredith Russo
Narrated by: Dana Aliya Levinson
Length: 7 hours 58 minutes

Birthday

“Loved this YA novel of gender alignment! Two babies "meet" at birth in the hospital and grow up as close friends with a special bond. One of them is a "typical" male; the other realizes with more and more clarity that, though born male, she is female. Predictably, she has lots of difficulties and traumas as she matures -- the "normal" growing pains plus the increasing conviction that her body just doesn't match her insides. Through the chronicling of the friends' lives (every year, from birthday to birthday, told in their alternating voices) runs the constant thread of the soulmates' lifelong friendship. Spoiler alert: it turns out well in the end! The extensive conversation at the end between the author and the audiobook narrator [who are both trans women] is worth the price of the audiobook. Open, honest, soul-baring, and replete with valuable support and resources, the interview itself could be a life-changing resource for someone with gender questions and confusions.”

Tattered Cover image Cathy, Tattered Cover
Audiobook details

I Wish You All the Best

By Mason Deaver
Narrated by: MW Cartozian Wilson
Length: 8 hours 34 minutes

Perfect for fans of Adam Silvera and Becky Albertalli, Mason Deaver's STUNNING debut will rip your heart out before showing you how to heal from tragedy and celebrate life in the process.


When Ben De Backer comes out to their parents as nonbinary, they're thrown out of their house and forced to move in with their estranged older sister, Hannah,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Map of Salt and Stars

By Zeyn Joukhadar
Narrated by: Lara Sawalha
Length: 12 hours 17 minutes

The Map of Salt and Stars

“Scheherazade's The Thousand and One Nights meets Alan Gratz's Refugee in this important debut novel. A 12th century fable about an apprentice mapmaker is interwoven with a modern-day Syrian refugee searching for home. The plot follows both girls through the Middle East, encountering tremendous dangers and immense kindness. A must-read for adults and teens 14+, this is a deeply moving and lushly described story of family and friends, meaningful culture, changing landscapes, and universal hope. There are parts that make your heart stop and parts that make it beat again. It's an incredible force, with vivid descriptions that make you long to see, smell, and taste everything described.”

River Dog Book Co. image BrocheAroe, River Dog Book Co.
Audiobook details

The Black Tides of Heaven

Tensorate: Book #1

By Neon Yang
Narrated by: Nancy Wu
Length: 5 hours 21 minutes

Mokoya and Akeha, the twin children of the Protector, were sold to the Grand Monastery as infants. While Mokoya developed her strange prophetic gift, Akeha was always the one who could see the strings that moved adults to action. While Mokoya received visions of what would be, Akeha realized what could be. What's more, they saw the sickness at... Read more »

Audiobook details

Transgender History, second edition

The Roots of Today's Revolution
Seal Studies

By Susan Stryker
Narrated by: Emily Cauldwell
Length: 7 hours 49 minutes

Covering American transgender history from the mid-twentieth century to today, Transgender History takes a chronological approach to the subject of transgender history, with each chapter covering major movements, writings, and events. Chapters cover the transsexual and transvestite communities in the years following World War II; trans... Read more »

Audiobook details

Freshwater

By Akwaeke Emezi
Narrated by: Akwaeke Emezi
Length: 6 hours 42 minutes

An extraordinary debut novel, Freshwater explores the surreal experience of having a fractured self. It centers around a young Nigerian woman, Ada, who develops separate selves within her as a result of being born "with one foot on the other side." Unsettling, heartwrenching, dark, and powerful, Freshwater is a sharp evocation of a rare way of... Read more »

Audiobook details

I'm Afraid of Men

By Vivek Shraya
Narrated by: Vivek Shraya
Length: 1 hours 26 minutes

Named a Best Book by: The Globe and Mail, Indigo, Out Magazine, Audible, CBC, Apple, Quill & Quire, Kirkus Reviews, Brooklyn Public Library, Writers’ Trust of Canada, Autostraddle, Bitch, and BookRiot.

Finalist for the 2019 Lambda Literary Award, Transgender Nonfiction
Nominated for the 2019 Forest of Reading Evergreen Award
Winner of the...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Felix Ever After

By Kacen Callender
Narrated by: Logan Rozos
Length: 8 hours 23 minutes

From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.

Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and why it seems so easy... Read more »

Audiobook details

Social Purpose Annual Report

Social Purpose Annual Report

As we look to the future as a Social Purpose Corporation, we’re committed to serving readers and independent bookstores. Read our 2020 Annual Report to see an overview of the year.

Read the Report

Trans Like Me

Conversations for All of Us

By C.N. Lester
Narrated by: CN Lester
Length: 6 hours 4 minutes

In Trans Like Me, CN Lester takes listeners on a measured, thoughtful, intelligent yet approachable tour through the most important and high-profile narratives around the trans community, turning them inside out and examining where we really are in terms of progress. From the impact of the media's wording in covering trans people and issues, to... Read more »

Audiobook details