Skip navigation
Skip content
Shop small and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference
Women in Translation

Women in Translation

Celebrate Women in Translation Month in with this great selection of international books.

Playlist Tags: season: women in translation month

View all playlists

The Lying Life of Adults

By Elena Ferrante
Narrated by: Marisa Tomei
Length: 10 hours 21 minutes

The Lying Life of Adults

“Ferrante’s latest novel gives an insightful and intriguing look at the life of a budding Italian teenage girl, both internally and externally. I found Ferrante’s ability to delve into Giovanna’s psyche fascinating, especially since I’ve never parented a girl and don’t always feel like I understand them. Her sensitivity to the myriad of issues and the fragility of Giovanna’s relationships make for a marvelous read. Ferrante is a gifted writer, and this latest offering does not disappoint. I loved this story! Fabulous read!”

Page and Palette image Stephanie Crowe, Page and Palette
Audiobook details

Consent

A Memoir

By Vanessa Springora
Narrated by: Anne-Marie Piazza
Length: 4 hours 32 minutes

 “Consent” is a Molotov cocktail, flung at the face of the French establishment, a work of dazzling, highly controlled fury...By every conceivable metric, her book is a triumph.” -- The New York Times 

Already an international literary sensation, an intimate and powerful memoir of a young French teenage girl’s relationship with a famous, much...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Night Singer

A Novel
The Island Murders: Book #1

By Johanna Mo
Narrated by: Kirsten Potter
Length: 10 hours 9 minutes

The scars from a family tragedy draw an estranged police detective back to her childhood home as a teenage boys death quickly causes the past to collide with the present.

Police detective Hannah Duncker didn’t expect to return to her native Öland. She fled after her father’s murder conviction and returns to make peace with her shame. She has a... Read more »

Audiobook details
Libro.fm app in a gift box

Shop small and gift big!

Gift an audiobook membership to anyone in the world and support local bookstores at the same time.

Start gifting

Breasts and Eggs

By Mieko Kawakami
Narrated by: Emily Woo Zeller & Jeena Yi
Length: 15 hours 21 minutes

The story of three women by a writer hailed by Haruki Murakami as Japan’s most important contemporary novelist.

Challenging every preconception about storytelling and prose style, mixing wry humor and riveting emotional depth, Kawakami is today one of Japan’s most important and bestselling writers. She exploded onto the cultural scene first as a...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Tender is the Flesh

By Agustina Bazterrica
Narrated by: Joseph Balderrama
Length: 6 hours 43 minutes

Working at the local processing plant, Marcos is in the business of slaughtering humans—though no one calls them that anymore.

His wife has left him, his father is sinking into dementia, and Marcos tries not to think too hard about how he makes a living. After all, it happened so quickly. First, it was reported that an infectious virus has made... Read more »

Audiobook details

My Brilliant Life

By Ae-ran Kim
Narrated by: Raymond J. Lee
Length: 5 hours 34 minutes

“A moving, earnest, and deeply-felt exploration of a unique family in all its joys and disappointments . . . an utter delight.” Claire Lombardo, New York Times bestselling author of The Most Fun We Ever Had

Ae-ran Kim's My Brilliant Life explores family bonds and out-of-the-ordinary friendships, interweaving the past and present of a tight-knit...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Farewell, Ghosts

By Nadia Terranova
Narrated by: Nicol Zanzarella
Length: 6 hours 8 minutes

Ida is a married woman in her late thirties, who lives in Rome and works at a radio station. Her mother wants to renovate the family apartment in Messina, to put it up for sale and asks her daughter to sort through her things—to decide what to keep and what to throw away.

Surrounded by the objects of her past, Ida is forced to deal with the... Read more »

Audiobook details

There's No Such Thing as an Easy Job

By Kikuko Tsumura
Narrated by: Cindy Kay
Length: 9 hours 41 minutes

A young woman walks into an employment agency and requests a job that has the following traits: it’s close to her home, and it requires no reading, no writing, and, ideally, very little thinking.Her first gig—watching the hidden-camera feed of an author suspected of storing contraband goods—turns out to be inconvenient. (When can she go to the... Read more »

Audiobook details

Terminal Boredom

Stories

By Izumi Suzuki
Narrated by: Cindy Kay
Length: 5 hours 53 minutes

The first English language publication of the work of Izumi Suzuki, a legend of Japanese science fiction and a countercultural icon.

At turns nonchalantly hip and charmingly deranged, Suzuki's singular slant on speculative fiction would be echoed in countless later works, from Margaret Atwood and Harumi Murakami, to Black Mirror and Ex Machina.... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Loyalties

A Novel

By Delphine de Vigan
Length: 3 hours 37 minutes

Adults are as lost as the children they should be protecting, as the lives of four people trapped in a conspiracy of silence hurtle toward a desperate and devastating act.
Twelve-year-old Théo and his friend Mathis have a secret. Their teacher, Hélène, suspects something is not right with Théo and becomes obsessed with rescuing him, casting aside... Read more »

Audiobook details

Eartheater

A Novel

By Dolores Reyes
Narrated by: Frankie Corzo
Length: 3 hours 55 minutes

Eartheater

“This an example of a beautifully translated work with a gripping concept. The main character’s compulsion to eat earth felt visceral, the writing enigmatically lyrical. I couldn’t put it down, yet I had to force myself to absorb this book painfully slowly, so as to not let it pass me by.”

House of Books image Tori-Lynn Bell, House of Books
Audiobook details

Love in Case of Emergency

A Novel

By Daniela Krien
Narrated by: Mary Jane Wells
Length: 7 hours 3 minutes

"Fans of Sarah Dunn, Elisabeth Egan, and Isabel Gillies will relate to the multifaceted lives of Krien’s characters, brilliantly rendered in her vivid voice." -- Booklist

Writing with the wry realism of Sally Rooney, one of Germany’ most promising literary talents demonstrates her incisive understanding of the complexities of relationships and...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Those Who Forget

By Geraldine Schwarz
Narrated by: Kathe Mazur
Length: 11 hours 29 minutes

“[Makes] the very convincing case that, until and unless there is a full accounting for what happened with Donald Trump, 2020 is not over and never will be.” —Susan Glasser, The New Yorker

“Deserves to be read and discussed widely...This is Schwarz’s invaluable warning.” Samantha Power, The Washington Post Book Review

Those Who Forget,... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Woman in the Purple Skirt

A Novel

By Natsuko Imamura
Narrated by: Jennifer Ikeda
Length: 3 hours 55 minutes

“A taut and compelling depiction of loneliness and obsession.” --Paula Hawkins, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Girl on the Train
 
“[It] will keep you firmly in its grip.” --Oyinkan Braithwaite, bestselling author of My Sister, the Serial Killer
 
“The love child of Eugene Ionesco and Patricia Highsmith.” --Kelly Link, bestselling...
Read more »

Audiobook details

The Birdwoman's Palate

By Laksmi Pamuntjak
Narrated by: Elizabeth Knowelden
Length: 11 hours 55 minutes

In this exhilarating culinary novel, a woman’s road trip through Indonesia becomes a discovery of friendship, self, and other rare delicacies.

Aruna is an epidemiologist dedicated to food and avian politics. One is heaven, the other earth. The two passions blend in unexpected ways when Aruna is asked to research a handful of isolated bird flu...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

For a limited time, when you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

The House of the Spirits

A Novel

By Isabel Allende
Narrated by: Thom Rivera & Marisol Ramirez
Length: 18 hours 51 minutes

“Spectacular...An absorbing and distinguished work...The House of the Spirits with its all-informing, generous, and humane sensibility, is a unique achievement, both personal witness and possible allegory of the past, present, and future of Latin America.” —The New York Times Book Review

Our Shared Shelf, Emma Watson Goodreads Book Club Pick... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Vegetarian

A Novel

By Han Kang
Narrated by: Janet Song & Stephen Park
Length: 5 hours 13 minutes

Winner of the 2016 Man Booker International Prize

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY The New York Times Book Review • Publisher's Weekly •  Buzzfeed •  Entertainment Weekly •  Time •  Wall Street Journal •  Bustle •  Elle •  The Economist •  Slate •  The Huffington Post • The St. Louis Dispatch •  Electric Literature

Featured in the New...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Flights

By Olga Tokarczuk
Narrated by: Julia Whelan
Length: 12 hours 31 minutes

WINNER OF THE NOBEL PRIZE IN LITERATURE
 
WINNER OF THE MAN BOOKER INTERNATIONAL PRIZE

NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST FOR TRANSLATED LITERATURE

A visionary work of fiction by "A writer on the level of W. G. Sebald" (Annie Proulx)

"A magnificent writer." — Svetlana Alexievich, Nobel Prize-winning author of Secondhand Time

"A beautifully fragmented...
Read more »

Audiobook details

Like Water for Chocolate - Abridged

By Laura Esquivel
Narrated by: Yareli Arizmendi
Length: 4 hours 26 minutes

Earthy, magical, and utterly charming, this tale of family life in turn-of-the-century Mexico became a best-selling phenomenon with its winning blend of poignant romance and bittersweet wit. The classic love story takes place on the De la Garza ranch, as the tyrannical owner, Mama Elena, chops onions at the kitchen table in her final days of... Read more »

Audiobook details

In Paris With You

By Clementine Beauvais
Narrated by: Ellie Heydon
Length: 4 hours 57 minutes

Because their story didn't end at the right time, in the right place,
because they let their feelings go to waste,
it was written, I think, that Eugene and Tatiana
would find each other
ten years later,
one morning in winter,
under terra firma
on the Meteor, Line 14 (magenta) of the
Paris
metro.


Eugene and Tatiana could have fallen in love. If things had...

Read more »

Audiobook details
  • 1
Shop small and gift big! Every purchase supports local bookstores. Make a difference