Skip navigation
Skip content
Books by Women of Color to Read in 2022

Books by Women of Color to Read in 2022

R.O. Kwon and Electric Lit pulled together this incredible list of upcoming titles to pre-order and get excited about in 2022!

Playlist Tags: bipoc women authors 2022

View all playlists

Brown Girls

A Novel

By Daphne Palasi Andreades
Narrated by: Tashi Thomas
Length: 4 hours 26 minutes

Brown Girls

“Told in the collective voice of the women of color of Queens, Brown Girls reads like poetry, with each chapter packing a powerful punch as we drop in on scenes in the girls' lives as they grow up, move away, and return to their home borough. This is one of those perfect books that goes down equally well as a one-sitting read or one that's doled out a chapter at a time. I've never read anything like this utterly compelling debut novel (and I've never been to Queens, let alone any other borough in New York), but reading this book still felt like coming home. ”

Bookmarks image Kate, Bookmarks
Audiobook details

The School for Good Mothers

A Novel

By Jessamine Chan
Narrated by: Catherine Ho
Length: 11 hours 56 minutes

An Instant New York Times Bestseller

A Read with Jenna Today Show Book Club Pick

In this taut and explosive debut novel, one lapse in judgement lands a young mother in a government reform program where custody of her child hangs in the balance.

Frida Liu is struggling. She doesn’t have a career worthy of her Chinese immigrant parents’ sacrifices.... Read more »

Audiobook details

Olga Dies Dreaming

A Novel

By Xochitl Gonzalez
Narrated by: Almarie Guerra, Armando Riesco & Inés del Castillo
Length: 11 hours 22 minutes

Olga Dies Dreaming

“Olga’s mother abandoned her family to fight for Puerto Rico’s liberation, and since then both Olga and her brother Prieto have tried to fill the void she left. Olga seeks attention and approval in meaningless relationships, while Prieto seeks approval and acclaim as a politician. Both finally face truths about their revolutionary mother and themselves and gain their own liberation from the years of heartbreak. This is a story focused on individuals and family and trauma, but it also highlights the far-reaching effects of colonialism.”

Raven Book Store image Nancy, Raven Book Store
Audiobook details

Fiona and Jane

By Jean Chen Ho
Narrated by: Natalie Naudus
Length: 7 hours 17 minutes

NAMED A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2022 BY VOGUE * USA TODAY * TIME * OPRAH DAILY * PARADE * THE WASHINGTON POST * BUZZFEED * GOOD HOUSEKEEPING * MARIE CLAIRE * FORTUNE * GLAMOUR * W MAGAZINE * NYLON * BUSTLE * POPSUGAR * ELECTRIC LITERATURE * THE RUMPUS * DEBUTIFUL * AND MORE!
 
A BELLETRIST BOOK CLUB PICK

Fiona And Jane captures the textures of...
Read more »

Audiobook details

People Change

By Vivek Shraya
Narrated by: Vivek Shraya
Length: 1 hours 52 minutes

“A deeply generous and honest gift to the world.
Elliot Page
 
The author of I’m Afraid of Men lets readers in on the secrets to a life of reinvention.


Vivek Shraya knows this to be true: people change. We change our haircuts and our outfits and our minds. We change names, titles, labels. We attempt to blend in or to stand out. We outgrow... Read more »

Audiobook details

To Paradise

A Novel

By Hanya Yanagihara
Narrated by: Edoardo Ballerini, Catherine Ho, BD Wong, Feodor Chin & Kurt Kanazawa
Length: 28 hours 46 minutes

To Paradise

“Expansive, wholly original, and utterly engrossing, To Paradise is a masterpiece. Fans of Yanagihara’s A Little Life will find themselves making a little more room in their hearts for this marvelous, emotional, and brilliant story.”

Loyalty Bookstores image Christine Bollow, Loyalty Bookstores
Audiobook details

Manifesto

On Never Giving Up

By Bernardine Evaristo
Narrated by: Bernardine Evaristo
Length: 6 hours 7 minutes

From the bestselling and Booker Prize–winning author of Girl, Woman, Other, Bernardine Evaristo’s memoir of her own life and writing, and her manifesto on unstoppability, creativity, and activism

Bernardine Evaristo’s 2019 Booker Prize win was a historic and revolutionary occasion, with Evaristo being the first Black woman and first Black British...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Fresh Banana Leaves

Healing Indigenous Landscapes through Indigenous Science

By Jessica Hernandez, Ph.D.
Narrated by: Stacy Gonzalez
Length: TBA

An Indigenous environmental scientist breaks down why western conservationism isn't working--and offers Indigenous models informed by case studies, personal stories, and family histories that center the voices of Latin American women and land protectors.

Despite the undeniable fact that Indigenous communities are among the most affected by... Read more »

Audiobook details

You Don’t Know Us Negroes and Other Essays

By Zora Neale Hurston, Henry Louis Gates & Genevieve West
Narrated by: Robin Miles
Length: 15 hours 20 minutes

Introduction by New York Times bestselling author Henry Louis Gates Jr. 

Spanning more than 35 years of work, the first comprehensive collection of essays, criticism, and articles by the legendary author of the Harlem Renaissance, Zora Neale Hurston, showcasing the evolution of her distinctive style as an archivist and author.

“One of the greatest...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Admissions

A Memoir of Surviving Boarding School

By Kendra James
Narrated by: Mela Lee
Length: 8 hours 53 minutes

A sharp-witted and deeply insightful look into the storied world of elite prep schools from the first African-American legacy student to graduate from The Taft School.

Early on in Kendra James’ professional life, she began to feel like she was selling a lie. As an admissions officer specializing in diversity recruitment for independent prep... Read more »

Audiobook details

Joan Is Okay

A Novel

By Weike Wang
Narrated by: Catherine Ho
Length: 6 hours 36 minutes

A witty, moving, piercingly insightful new novel about a marvelously complicated woman who can’t be anyone but herself, from the award-winning author of Chemistry

“A deeply felt portrait . . . With gimlet-eyed observation laced with darkly biting wit, Weike Wang masterfully probes the existential uncertainty of being other in America.”—Celeste... Read more »

Audiobook details

Violeta [English Edition]

A Novel

By Isabel Allende
Narrated by: Yareli Arizmendi
Length: 11 hours 59 minutes

This sweeping novel from the New York Times bestselling author of A Long Petal of the Sea tells the epic story of Violeta Del Valle, a woman whose life spans one hundred years and bears witness to the greatest upheavals of the twentieth century.

ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2022—Oprah Daily, The Washington Post, Business Insider, Marie... Read more »

Audiobook details

South to America

A Journey Below the Mason-Dixon to Understand the Soul of a Nation

By Imani Perry
Narrated by: Imani Perry
Length: 16 hours 32 minutes

“An elegant meditation on the complexities of the American South—and thus of America—by an esteemed daughter of the South and one of the great intellectuals of our time. An inspiration.”

—Isabel Wilkerson, New York Times bestselling author of The Warmth of Other Suns and Caste: The Origins of Our Discontents

An essential, surprising journey...

Read more »

Audiobook details

Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century

By Kim Fu
Narrated by: Piper Goodeve, Sean Patrick Hopkins, Samara Naeymi, Gary Tiedemann & Jeena Yi
Length: 6 hours 27 minutes

In the twelve unforgettable tales of Lesser Known Monsters of the 21st Century, the strange is made familiar and the familiar strange, such that a girl growing wings on her legs feels like an ordinary rite of passage, while a bug-infested house becomes an impossible, Kafkaesque nightmare. Each story builds a new world all its own: a group of... Read more »

Audiobook details

Reclaim the Stars

17 Tales Across Realms & Space

By Zoraida Córdova
Narrated by: Almarie Guerra & Zoraida Córdova
Length: TBA

Reclaim the Stars is a collection of bestselling and acclaimed YA authors that take the Latin American diaspora to places fantastical and out of this world. From princesses warring in space, to the all too-near devastation of climate change, to haunting ghost stories in Argentina, and mermaids off the coast of the Caribbean. This is science...

Read more »

Audiobook details
Librofm App

Special offer

Free audiobook with membership

Happy New Year! When you sign up for a new monthly membership with code CHOOSEINDIE, we’ll give you a bonus audiobook! That means you’ll have 2 audiobook credits to redeem from the start.

Claim special offer

When I'm Gone, Look for Me in the East

A Novel

By Quan Barry
Narrated by: David Lee Huynh
Length: TBA

From the acclaimed author of We Ride Upon Sticks comes a luminous novel that moves across a windswept Mongolia, as estranged twin brothers make a journey of duty, conflict, and renewed understanding.

Tasked with finding the reincarnation of a great lama—a spiritual teacher who may have been born anywhere in the vast Mongolian landscape—the young... Read more »

Audiobook details

The Lost Dreamer

By Lizz Huerta
Narrated by: Elisa Melendez & Inés del Castillo
Length: TBA

A stunning YA fantasy inspired by ancient Mesoamerica, this gripping debut introduces us to a lineage of seers defiantly resisting the shifting patriarchal state that would see them destroyed—perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi and Sabaa Tahir.

Indir is a Dreamer, descended from a long line of seers; able to see beyond reality, she carries the rare...

Read more »

Audiobook details

The Last Suspicious Holdout

Stories

By Ladee Hubbard
Narrated by: TBD
Length: TBA

The critically acclaimed author of The Rib King returns with an eagerly anticipated collection of short stories including the title story written exclusively for this volume, that explore relationships in a Black neighborhood over the course from the late 1980s to the eve of Barack Obama’s inauguration.

The twelve stories in The Last Suspicious...

Read more »

Audiobook details

When We Were Birds

A Novel

By Ayanna Lloyd Banwo
Length: TBA

A mythic love story set in Trinidad, Ayanna Lloyd Banwo's radiant debut introduces two unforgettable outsiders brought together by their connection with the dead.
 
"A searing symphony of magic and loss, love and hope, where in the middle of death, love comes shiny, sparkling and alive. This book might just heal you."Marlon James, New York Times...
Read more »

Audiobook details

A Ballad of Love and Glory

A Novel

By Reyna Grande
Narrated by: Yareli Arizmendi & Aiden Kelly
Length: TBA

A Long Petal of the Sea meets Cold Mountain in this sweeping historical saga following a Mexican army nurse and an Irish soldier who must fight, at first for their survival and then for their love, amidst the atrocity of the Mexican-American War—from the author of the “timely and riveting” (People) Across a Hundred Mountains and The Distance... Read more »

Audiobook details